70°FFairFull Forecast

Five from St. Bede earn NCIC all-conference

Published: Friday, Feb. 25, 2011 7:30 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, March 1, 2011 4:00 p.m. CDT

St. Bede seemingly struggled to land many players each year on the Tri-County All-Conference basketball team. That wasn’t the case in the Lady Bruins first go around in the NCIC.

All five members of the Lady Bruins starting five received 2010-11 NCIC all-conference recognition, including seniors Emily Considine and Hailee Brayton on the first-team. They were joined by second-teamers Kelsey Moravec, a senior, and Stevie Fisher, a junior, and junior Taylor Miller with honorable mention.

Hall junior Jaclyn Kain landed on the first team. Teammates Kelle Nett (jr., C) and Brigitte Klein (sr. G) were named to the second team and senior guard Hillary Klein received honorable mention.

For Princeton, junior forward Jasmine Kunkel was a second-team selection and junior guard C.J. Rhodes earned honorable mention.

Second-place Rock Falls was represented on the first team by senior Paige Last and sophomore Morgan Mammoser. Other first-team selections were IVC junior Emma Hoerr and Mendota senior Lauren Kellen.

St. Bede won the conference title with a 9-1 record. Rock Falls (7-3) was second with Hall and IVC tied for third at 5-5, Mendota fifth at 3-9 and PHS sixth at 1-9.

St. Bede was also the sophomore champions with a 9-0 lead mark.

NCIC bowling: Hall’s Staci Roberts and Kaitlyn Padgett were named to the NCIC all-conference first team girls’ bowling team. They were joined by Mendota’s Lindsey Spriet, Ashley Vickery and Jenna Manning. St. Bede’s Mary Hartenbower, Angela Silfies and Haley Sondgeroth received second team.

More News