Fair and Breezy
43°FFair and BreezyFull Forecast

Bradford students honored 
with community scholarships

Published: Friday, May 4, 2012 5:06 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, May 4, 2012 5:08 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
Bradford Community Scholarship Award winners include (front row, from left) Leah Knobloch, Melissa Cobb, Taylor Endress, Kassie King, Haley Schlicksup, Caitlin Code, Lauren Hoffert and Jenna Loudenburg; and (back row) Nathan Harris, Ryan Ehnle and Colton Schmitt.

BRADFORD — The Bradford Community Scholarship Fund held its annual ceremony April 15, in the Bradford Elementary School Gymnasium. The ceremony is to reunite the Bradford graduating seniors and honor them for their accomplishments throughout their high school careers. These students attend three different high schools, but remain in the hearts and minds of the community, Bradford students.

The Scholarship Fund invites every Bradford graduating senior to apply for the chance to earn a $1,000 scholarship for higher education. The seniors are sent an application and given an interview by the scholarship selection committee. The scholarship selections are based on academics, character, citizenship, volunteering and the interview process. The scholarship fund also makes selections from the information provided by the seniors, recipients for the various awards that were traditionally given at the Bradford High School commencement ceremonies, which encompass sports, math, business, music and agriculture.

Other awards given include the Mary Jo Shipley scholarship, the Bradford Education Organization scholarship, and the American Legion awards.

The recipients of this year’s awards are: Duane Stewart music award, Haley Schlicksup; the Francis Clark agriculture award, Colton Schmitt and Jenna Loundenburg; the Verlinda Gorman Girls’ Athletics Award, Taylor Endress; the Sally Vanzant Mathematics Award, Leah Knobloch; the American Legion Awards, Jenna Loundenburg and Colton Schmitt; the Bradford Education Organization Scholarship, Katelyn Code; the Mary Jo Shipley Scholarship, Taylor Endress and Leah Knobloch and the Bradford Community Scholarship Fund Awards, Taylor Endress, Lauren Hoffert and Haley Schlicksup.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!