Helen Taylor Scholarships awarded to 13 students

This fall, 13 of the district’s top high school graduates, including six valedictorians, are attending Illinois Valley Community College. Each year the college awards $1,500 Helen Taylor Scholarships to district high school valedictorians, salutatorians and those finishing in the top 2 percent of their classes. 2012 Taylor scholars include Nadia Churchill-Gilstrap (from left), Princeton High School valedictorian; Joe Dimmig, Mendota High School valedictorian; Joe Sydlowski of Peru, LaSalle-Peru High School salutatorian; Ashlee Heider of Oglesby, L-P top 2 percent; Marissa Washington, Streator High School valedictorian; and Hannah Kosciewicz of Spring Valley, Hall High School top 2 percent. Taylor scholars not pictured are Alexa Giacinto of Streator, Rhema Christian Academy salutatorian; Billie Goluba, Streator High School top 2 percent; Madison Harms of Streator, Woodland High School valedictorian; Joshua Highsmith, Mendota High School valedictorian; Nathan Klaassen, Ottawa High School salutatorian; Trey Pastirik of Streator, Rhema Christian Academy valedictorian; and Kendale Stanford, Earlville High School salutatorian.