52°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Bruins head area BRC selections

Published: Friday, Nov. 2, 2012 2:45 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, Nov. 2, 2012 2:47 p.m. CDT

Area football players garnered recognition on the 2012 Big Rivers All-Conference football team, which was recently released.

St. Bede’s Michael Bellino (OE/LB) and Bobby Morrow (RB/DB) were named first team on both sides of the ball. Also receiving first-team selection at St. Bede, which placed second in the league, were Brandon Pietrowski (OG), Joe Pyszka (T), Brad Groleau (OE), Taggert Venegas (QB) and Austin Schwab (DL). In addition, Pietrowski was named to the second team at linebacker.

Hall senior Landon Piccatto was a triple threat as a first-team selection at running back and return specialist and second team at defensive back. Hall senior Taylor Steele was a second-team pick at defensive line.

Jordan Monier headed Bureau Valley’s selections with first-team honors at offensive end and second-team honors at defensive back. Also receiving second-team for the Storm were Parker Neuhalfen (RB), Josh Lewis (DL) and Frank Gebeck (DB).

Newman’s Brian Bahrs and Erie/Prophetstown’s Zach Inskeep, a pair of running back/linebackers, were named as the BRC Players of the Year. E/P’s Chuck Milem claimed Coach of the Year honors.

Other first-team selections on offense, included centers Calvin Harridge (Morrison) and Kyle Moore (Newman), guards, Kyle Meurs (Morrison) and Tanner Behrends (Amboy/LaMoille), tackles Danny Trygstand and Tanner Cole (Newman), quarterbacks Tyson Powers (A/L) and running backs Ethan Howard (E/P), Danny Willis (Morrison) and Nick Rude (Newman).

First-team honors also went to defensive lineman Jake Willging (Fulton), Bailey Appleman and Drew Fordham (A/L), Nolan Dykema and Owen McConnell (E/P), and Trygstad and Cole (Newman), linebackers Taylor Ikens (A/L), Harridge (Morrison) and Moore (Newman) and defensive backs Brock Deter (Morrison), Powers (A/L) and Maison Bitter and Rude (Newman).

Bureau Valley players receiving honorable mention honors were Nick Catton (T/LB), Josh Lewis (T), Jake Smith (E), Kristian Konneck (RB/LB), Tommy Johnston (RB), Justin Buckman (DL), Josh Mead (DL) and Gebeck (DB). Also receiving honorable mention honors were Hall’s Nathan Tonozzi (G) and St. Bede’s Damin Smith (E), Justin Shaw (DL), Sam Halm (DB) and Schwab (RB).

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News