Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

County board contests decided

PRINCETON — As the result of Tuesday's election, Bureau County voters have returned 23 incumbents to the Bureau County Board.

Tuesday's county board election determined 25 of the 26 county board seats with District 26 having no candidates on the ballots. However, there were two write-in candidates for District 26, Connie Stetson and Wesley Barron. The final tallies for the write-in candidates were to be determined later Wednesday, after press time, with the winner of the write-in contest to be announced in Saturday's Bureau County Republican.

Tuesday's election also determined four contested county board races with the incumbents winning all four contests.

In District 1, incumbent Robin Rediger, a Republican, beat challenger Richard Constantine, a Democrat, with a 439 to 171 tally.

In District 15, incumbent Mike Maynard, a Democrat, squeaked by Republican challenger Weldon Wilkinson with 275 to 272 votes.

In District 17, Republican incumbent James Thompson, a Republican, defeated a challenge by Todd Ratliff, a Democrat, with 389 to 293 votes.

In District 18, incumbent Mike Kohr, a Democrat, defeated Republican challenger Daniel Hyson, with 278 to 113 votes.

Running unopposed in Tuesday's election were Republicans Dale Anderson, District 2; Jim Donarski, District 3; Jeff Mangrich, District 4; Marsha Lilley, District 5; Derek Whited, District 6; Marshann Entwhistle, District 7; Kristi Warren, District 8; Loretta Volker, District 9; Ralph Anderson, District 10; Steve Sondgeroth, District 11; Daniel Rabe, District 13; Robert Albrecht, District 14; and Tom Ptasnik, District 16.

Also running unopposed were Democrats Robert McCook, District 12; Tom Dobrich, District 19; Tom Giordano, District 20; Deb Feeney, District 21; Joe Bassetti, District 22; John Baracani, District 23; Rob Pozzi, District 24; and Mary Jane Marini, District 25.

Whited, Ptasnik and the winner of the write-in contest are the only new members to the board.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com.

Loading more