Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Obama wins re-election

Romney wins in Bureau County

After a long and often contentious campaign, President Barack Obama won re-election in Tuesday's race.

With 270 electoral votes needed to win, Obama had 303 to Republican Gov. Mitt Romney's 206. He won the hotly-contested swing states including Ohio, Virginia and Colorado. As of Wednesday morning, Florida remained still too close to count, although the president was holding on to a 45,000 vote edge.

Obama also won the popular vote, 59,697,251 to Romney's 57,074,675 as of Wednesday morning.

As expected, Obama won his home state of Illinois with more than 57 percent of the vote, with 2,912,872 votes to Romney's 2,087,366.

In Bureau County, Romney edged ahead of the president, earning 8,151 votes to Obama's 8,118. The Libertarian Party candidate, Gary Johnson, received 226 votes, and Green Party candidate Jill Stein received 104 votes.

Romney won in 28 of Bureau County's 50 precincts with Obama winning in 21 of the precincts. The vote was a tie in Westfield 1, with each candidate receiving 80 votes.

Locally, Romney won by slim margins in LaSalle, Lee and Marshall counties. Obama won Putnam County by 58 votes.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com.

Loading more