Ruklick inducted into Hall of Fame

Princeton Tiger basketball great Joe Ruklick was recently inducted into the Illinois High School Basketball Hall of Fame in Champaign.

He was among the second year of inductees to be enshrined in the future Hall of Fame museum to be built in Pinckneyville.

Among other notable players of the Class of 2012 were Johnny “Red” Kerr (Tilden Tech), Darius Miles (East St. Louis), Jack Sikma (St. Anne), Quentin Richardson (Whitney Young), Lloyd Batts (Thornton), Russell Cross (Manley), Michael Payne (Quincy) and Sergio McClain (Peoria Manual). The Class of 2012 also includes five female players, including Cappie Poindexter (Chicago Marshall).

There were 60 players inducted in the inaugural Hall of Fame class in 2011, including legends like Glenn “Doc” Rivers, Isaiah Thomas, Cazzie Russel, Marcus Liberty, Kevin Garnett, Marty “The Mule” Simmons, Jay Shidler, Quinn Buckner, Jerry Sloan, Paul Judson, Dike Eddleman, Lou Boudreau and female stars Cathy Boswell, Dominque Canty and Tamika Catchings.

Visit for more information about the Hall of Fame and inductees.