Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

IVCC teams to be inducted into Hall of Fame

Basketball notebook

OGLESBY — The 1987-88 and 1988-89 Illinois Valley Community College men’s basketball teams will be inducted into the IVCC-LPO Hall of Fame class of 2013.

The 1987-88 and 1988-89 teams are being honored together because they shared many of the same stars: Mark Cooper, John Freeman, Adrian Hutt, Chris Daniels and Corey Akers – and the same Dean Riley-led coaching staff.

The 1987-88 team finished 27-9, won the college’s first Region title in 29 years and captured third at the Division II National Junior College Athletic Association championships at University Center, Mich. – the highest finish in school history. Daniels was Region IV tournament MVP and Riley won Region IV Coach of the Year for the N4C conference co-champion Apaches (12-2).

Returning five of its top six players, the ‘88-89 squad earned the nation’s regular season number one ranking by winning 23 straight en route to an undefeated N4C run (14-0) and overall 30-2 record, best in IVCC history.

Together, the teams won 22 straight N4C games, 23 straight at home and finished with a combined 57 wins against just 11 losses. Riley’s 12-year record at IVCC was 234-118.

Cooper is currently the Ottawa boys coach.

Other inductees include retired English instructor Ed Krolak, former nursing division chair Carol Haas, Chairman of Carus Corporation Blouke Carus and Caterpillar Director of Global Product Validation Jim Blass, an IVCC alumnus.

The sixth annual induction ceremony will be at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 26 in LaSalle-Peru High School’s Matthiessen Auditorium. Admission is free and the public is invited.

For information, call 815-224-0253. A list of IVCC-LPO Hall of Fame members from 2008 through 2012 is available at www.ivcc.edu/halloffameinductees.

Loading more