47°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

St. Bede Academy recognizes its Illinois State Scholars

Published: Monday, Jan. 14, 2013 2:39 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Jan. 14, 2013 2:40 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
St. Bede Academy recognized its Illinois State Scholars, including (front row, from left) Jacob Postula, Emily Haas, Claudia Szczepaniak and Lauren Urbanowski; (middle row) Samuel Lucas, Lydia Stariha, Grant Bosnich and Marcus Cirone; and (back row) Samuel Brolley, Eric Li, Steven Zhang and Brandon Criss.

PERU — St. Bede Academy Principal Michelle Mershon announced 12 Academy students have been recognized as 2013-14 Illinois State Scholars.

The prestigious award is given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) which recognizes high school students from across the state. Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of high school seniors from 749 high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

The honored students include: Grant Bosnich (DePue Junior High) of DePue, Samuel Brolley (Washington Junior High) of Peru, Marcus Cirone (John F. Kennedy of Spring Valley, Brandon Criss (Haines Middle School) of St. Charles, Emily Haas (Henry Grade School) of Putnam, Eric Li (Peru Catholic) of Peru, Samuel Lucas (Putnam County) of Hennepin, Jacob Postula (Dimmick School) of LaSalle, Lydia Stariha (Trinity) of LaSalle, Claudia Szczepaniak (Washington Junior High) of Peru, Lauren Urbanowski (Dimmick School) of Peru and Steven Zhang (Peru Washington) of Peru.

According to Mershon, “These students have challenged themselves with our most rigorous curriculum. Their efforts and hard work exemplify the standards set forth by the Illinois State Scholar program. We continue to be delighted by the prestige of this honor and the ability of our students to meet the requirements set forth by the Commission.”

The recognition does not include a monetary award, but recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on college admission forms, applications and scholarship applications.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News