Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Flaig back on top women’s masters

PRINCETON — The Princeton Women’s Bowling Association Master’s tournament concluded Sunday evening at Crown Bowling Center with Anna Flaig winning the blue jacket.

It is the fifth Master’s championship for Flaig, who last won in 2008 as well as 1998, 2004 and 2007.

Flaig topped the field with 99.07 Peterson Points and won an additional award for that achievement. Closely behind her were Cari Hanson (97.49), Melody Beans (89.48) and Sherry Allen (87.18). Shannon Allen and Melinda Camp rounded out the top five tying for the last spot with an average of 85.37.

Beans rolled the highest score during the four day tournament with a 247. Flaig’s best score was a 246. First time participant Trudi Colby won Sportsmanship Award, given in honor of Darlene Shepherd.

All 20 participants took home a cash prize with those finishing in the top 10 winning a percentage of the purse ranging from four percent for placing 10th to 20 percent for the winner.

“It was a great tournament. I really enjoyed it. I averaged probably higher than I ever have for any other tournament. I was very lucky. You’ve got to have a lot of luck to win. We have a lot of good bowlers, a lot of new people, and a lot of fun bowling,” Flaig said.

Tournament director Mary Hartmann said the winter weather brought some concern Sunday, but the tournament went very well without a hitch

“We had a good group of bowlers, some good bowling,” she said. “Anna averaged a 205 which was higher than her qualifying score. She did really well. She’s one of our older bowlers so it’s nice to see her win again. We had some new bowlers and we had averages from the 130s to the 190s so there was a big spread there.”

Hartmann praised her scorekeepers for a job well done, including Bretta Klein, Carol Walker, Judy Farley, Carol Fisher, Shawn Spencer, Gail Larson and Dot Hammitt. Plugging in the stats were Doug Drake and John Baldridge. The sheet runners were Terri Ann Ostel and Nicole Walker. 

Loading more