Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!


High school boys

DeKalb 1A Super-Sectional
Wednesday: Eastland 51, Newark 41
Jacksonville 1A Super-Sectional
Tuesday: Madison 66, Payson-Seymour 60

Normal 1A Super-Sectional
Tuesday: Illini Central 50, Cissna Park 39
Carbondale 1A Super-Sectional
Tuesday: Nokomis 57, Junction Gallatin County 54 (OT)
1A State Finals at Peoria
Friday: Game 1 - Madison (20-11) vs. Eastland (30-3), 12:15 p.m. Game 2 - Nokomis (24-9) vs. Illini Central (26-5), 2 p.m.
Saturday: Third place - losers 1-2, 12:15 p.m. Title - winners 1-2, 2 p.m.

DeKalb 2A Super-Sectional
Wednesday: Winnebago 74, Monmouth-Roseville 53

Joliet 2A Super-Sectional
Wednesday: South Holland Seton Academy 46, Chicago Providence-St. Mel 45
Carbondale 2A Super-Sectional
Tuesday: Harrisburg 77, Teutpolis 66
Springfield 2A Super-Sectional
Wednesday: St. Joseph-Ogden 59, Riverton 47

2A State Finals at Peoria
Friday: Game 1 - Winnebago (32-0) vs. South Holland Seton Academy (21-10), 6:30 p.m. Game 2 - Harrisburg (31-1) vs. St. Joseph-Ogden (29-3), 8:15 p.m.
Saturday: Third place - losers 1-2, 6:30 p.m. Title - winners 1-2, 8:15 p.m.

Peoria 3A Sectional

Wednesday: Limestone 68, Mendota 51
Thursday: Peoria vs. Galesburg, 7:30 p.m. (at Washington High School)
Friday: Title - Limestone (22-9) vs. Thursday winner, 7:30 p.m. (at Bradley University).

Three Rivers all-conference team
First team: *Jacob Johnston (sr., Erie), *Dayton Ince (sr., Kewanee), Jared Richmond (sr., Riverdale); A.J. Sharp (jr., Newman), Carter Ames (sr., Prophetstown), Parker Neuhalfen (so., Bureau Valley), Tyson Powers (sr., Amboy).
Second team: Kyle Moore (sr., Newman), Donovan Oliver (fr., Kewanee), Devin Johnson (sr., Prophetstown), Nick Fish (sr., Fulton), Alex Volckmann (sr., Morrison), Tommy Johnston (so., Bureau Valley)
Honorable mention: Mitchell Sand (jr., Riverdale), Connor Saad (sr., Erie), Nic Miller (sr., Newman), Dalton Nuding (jr., Kewanee), Matt Gustafson (sr., Kewanee), Zach Inskeep (sr., Prophetstown)
Player of the year: Jacob Johnston (sr., Erie).
* unanimous selection

Loading more