Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Morris named LTC All-Conference

LaMoille/Ohio’s Brandon Morris was named to the 10-man Little Ten All-Conference team.

The LHS junior led the Lions in scoring (16.7 ppg), rebounds (10.6 rpg) and blocked shots (2.0 bpg) and averaged 1.6 steals.

The LTC team is headed by six unanimous selections, including seniors Bernie Conley and Jared Madden of Hinckley-Big Rock, and senior Justin Wiley of Paw Paw, the co-champions of the conference. Other unanimous picks are senior Jaron Todd of Indian Creek, senior Brett Anderson of Newark and senior John Wathen of Somonauk.

Rounding out the All-LTC squad are senior Zach Lilja and junior Nicholas Siemers of Paw Paw and junior Garrison Govig of Indian Creek.

Tied for third in the conference, Newark won its fifth straight regional title and its fourth sectional crown in five years. The Norsemen fell to Lanark Eastland in the DeKalb 1A Super-Sectional.

• Home of the Bravettes: The Anna-wan Bravettes will return to next year’s State Farm Classic in Bloomington. Annawan (1A third place) is one of three returning teams in the small-school field that took home state trophies including Class 2A state runner-up Champaign St. Thomas More and El Paso-Gridley (2A third place).

Other teams in this field include perennial powerhouses in Bloomington Central Catholic, Brimfield, Camp Point Central, Fairbury Prairie Central, Kankakee Bishop Mac, Pana, Rock Island Alleman, Rochester, St. Joseph-Ogden and Peoria Christian.

• IBCA All-State: Four local players — Hall senior Brett Fanning and St. Bede seniors Joe Pyszka and Brad Groleau and BV sophomore Parker Neuhalfen — were named special mention all-state by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association. Fieldcrest’s Brady Sanders was a first team pick and St. Bede’s Damin Smith and PC’s Xavier Warren receiving honorable mention.

• Short trip: Bartonville Limestone will travel 7.6 miles when it ventures to nearby Carver Arena in downtown Peoria to play for the IHSA State Championship. The Rockets (24-9) will square off against Chicago Morgan Park (31-3) at 12:15 p.m. Friday. The semifinal pits Chicago Orr vs. Cahokia (32-3).

One team taking special note is Mendota. It was Limestone, which knocked off the Trojans 68-51 in the 3A regional semifinals. Limestone’s success takes some sting out of the Trojans’ loss.

"It was nice to know that we could play with a team of that caliber," MHS coach Jan Thompson said. "I thought we played better than Limestone did in the third quarter.  Ultimately, their speed and athletic ability proved too much for us.  I'm happy to see that they are still playing well. They have a great chance of winning State. I hope they win this thing."

Loading more