47°FFog/MistFull Forecast

SBA honors winter sports

Published: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 3:16 p.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 3:18 p.m. CDT

PERU — St. Bede Academy Athletic Director Tom McGunnigal has named the special award winners for the 2012-13 winter sports programs.

In girls’ basketball, award winners include Haley Dzierzynski (dedication), Lydia Stariha, (hustle), Lexie Miranda and Whitley Funfsinn (most improved, co-best defensive), Lydia Stariha (most assists, best free throw percentage, co-best defensive) and Morgan Dean (most valuable, most rebounds).

School record setters were Morgan Dean with a season field goal percentage of 63.75 percent and a career field goal percentage of 60.5

Boys’ basketball award winners include Eric Li (dedication), Grant Bosnich (hustle), Sam Lucas (most improved), Bobby Morrow (best defensive, most assists), Joe Pyszka (most rebounds), Grant Bosnich (best free throw percentage, 81.1) and Brad Groleau, Damin Smith and Pyszka (most valuable).

In bowling, Devin Forbes and Barbi Prokup were awarded most improved and Dan Schmidt and Savannah Player were named most valuable.

Wrestling award winners were Min Hwang and Ryan Kelsey (Blair Tiger Hard Work Award) Anthony Schneider and Brendan Zimmerman (leadership), Brendan Zimmerman and Chris Kerasotes (most improved), and James Peacock (most valuable).

Sectional qualifiers were Peacock (132 pounds), Adam Hunter (145 pounds), Zimmerman (220 pounds); and John Barnes (285 pounds).

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News