Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!
The Holiday Gift Auction is Live! Click here and bid now on great local gifts!

Election judges needed

PRINCETON — More election judges are needed for next Tuesday’s consolidated election in Bureau County.

On Monday, Bureau County Clerk Kami Hieronymus said more election judges are needed for the polling places in Kasbeer, Dover and Fairfield Township (Yorktown). She is also a little shorthanded in DePue and expects to need election judges, in time, in Malden.

The requirements at this point are that the interested person be a registered voter and be available on Tuesday for a long day, which begins about 5:15 a.m. and ends after the polls close at 7 p.m., typically with responsibilities done about 7:30 p.m.

Each election judge gets paid $125 for the day, Hieronymus said. Preferably, election judges live within the district where they vote, she added.

Interested persons should contact her office at 815-875-2014 for more information and to get a copy of the election judge booklet.

Hieronymus also reminded registered voters that early voting will continue through Saturday at the Bureau County Courthouse, with Saturday hours from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. for early voting only. Monday through Friday business hours at the courthouse are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Early voting is also available at the Spring Valley City Hall through Friday with regular business hours from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

More than 200 positions will be decided at Tuesday’s election for area school boards, village/city boards, library boards and townships. Registered voters in the unincorporated areas of the county, the Hall High School District, the city of Spring Valley, the Cherry Fire Protection District and the village of Tiskilwa will also have referendum questions on their ballots.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com.

Loading more