Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!
The Holiday Gift Auction is Live! Click here and bid now on great local gifts!

County's mayoral races heat up in Tuesday's election

Tiskilwa, Wyanet and Dalzell have retained their incumbent mayors, while the LaMoille incumbent mayor was defeated in Tuesday's election.

In other contested mayoral races, Bureau voters have also elected a new village president; the incumbent president did not seek re-election.

In Tiskilwa, incumbent Mayor Randy Philhower was re-elected for his third term as president, beating out challenger Charles Newstrand on a 133 to 76 vote.

Philhower has served as village president for eight years and was on the board for two years prior to that. He had also served an earlier term on the village board.

When contacted Tuesday night, Philhower said he's thankful for the people who had enough confidence in him to put him back in office for another four years. Looking at the challenges ahead for the village, Philhower said with the continuing difficult economic conditions, and the state of Illinois not coming through with money, the biggest challenge for Tiskilwa will be just trying to maintain.

In Wyanet, incumbent Mayor Bruce Hand beat out challenger Tom Odell on a 153 to 125 vote.

After election results were announced, Hand said he appreciates his supporters for the confidence they have put in him. The community has a lot of great people, a lot of good volunteers and he's looking forward to working together to make it a positive next four years, Hand said.

In Dalzell, incumbent Mayor Gloria Orlandi retained her position, beating out challenger John Mayfield and write-in candidate Patrick Croissant. Orlandi got 190 votes, followed by 79 votes for Mayfield. Write-in candidate votes have not yet been tabulated.

The village of LaMoille voted Tuesday against retaining its incumbent mayor with challenger Steve Stouffer defeating incumbent village President Michael Pinter on a 159 to 44 vote.

In Bureau, Thomas Hollingsworth defeated Timothy Shipp on a 74 to 52 vote. Hollingsworth will replace incumbent village President Rodney Crowther who did not seek re-election. 

On Tuesday, Bureau County Clerk Kami HIeronymus said the date on which newly-elected officials will take office will vary from community to community. Also, absentee ballots will be accepted at her office for 14 days after the election. Official results of Tuesday's election will not be released until April 24.

Editor's note: Spring Valley voters also elected a new mayor, Walt Marini, who defeated incumbent Mayor Cliff Banks on a 893 to 852 vote. Challenger John Narczewski trailed with 297 votes. See today's BCR for a detailed story on the Spring Valley mayor and city council races.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com.

Loading more