Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

New and old faces on county's school boards

PRINCETON – Voters in the Bureau Valley School District have voiced a change.

Four new board members will make up BV's next school board.

In District 5, Justin Yepsen beat out incumbent Roger Craine with 105 votes to Craine's 49 votes. In District 6, Matthew Wiggim beat Shelly Teske with 188 votes to Teske's 121 votes. District 7 saw William Gebeck beat out incumbent Myron Rumbold with 127 votes to Rumbold's 53 votes.

There were no contested races for Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4. Incumbents Kent Siltman, Don DeWaele, Rick Cernovich and newcomer Donald King will represent these districts.

The board set a special meeting to seat newly-elected board members at 7:30 p.m. May 6.

Cherry Grade School

In the Cherry Grade School District, voters kept three incumbents and brought on one newcomer to their school board.

Incumbents Jim Lower, Wendy Raef and Craig Mitchell hung onto their seats, and newcomer Alexa Doll snagged the fourth available board seat. The night ended with Lower at 156 votes; Raef, 145 votes; Mitchell, 129 votes; and Doll, 120 votes. Incumbent Deb Brokaw was left with 115 votes, and new candidate Al Hahn collected 81.

Spring Valley Community School

In Spring Valley, voters decided to keep three incumbents and chose one newcomer to make up their new school board.

Incumbents Theodore Urbanski, James Faletti and Raymond Nolasco held onto their seats, as newcomer Thomas Vallero snagged the fourth available seat.

In the end, Urbanski picked up 1,405 votes; Faletti, 1,377 votes; Vallero, 1,253 votes; Nolasco, 1,195. Incumbent Gregory Case was left with 920 votes, and incumbent James Scarpaci had 745 votes.

Princeton Elementary School

In Princeton, voters kept all three incumbents and selected one newcomer to fill the PES Board.

Incumbents Doris Hamilton, Terry O'Neil and Judson Lusher will continue to serve the board, as newcomer Elizabeth Arkels beat out other new candidate Heather Sampson for the fourth seat.

Hamilton ended the night with 1,273 votes; O'Neil, 1,215 votes; Lusher, 1,196 votes. Arkels just slid by Sampson with 1,106 votes to Sampson's 1,068 votes.

Malden Grade School

In Malden, four new candidates competed for three spots on the school board.

Voters cast solid votes to push Jim May to a seat with 205 votes and Mary Joiner to the second seat with 168 votes. However, voters were split 50/50 on the two other newcomers Tawnya Marciniak and Jonathan Ross.

The night ended with a tie between Marciniak and Ross with 158 votes for each candidate. According to Bureau County Clerk Kami Hieronymus, there are no outstanding absentee ballots in the Malden School District, therefore a lottery or coin flip will take place after April 24 in the county clerk's office to determine which candidate will snag the third seat.

Hall High School

In the Hall High School District, voters decided to keep the three incumbents seated on the school board.

Incumbents John Piccatto Jr., Betsy Sobin and Marty Herrmann beat new candidates Richard Piontek and Timothy Trevier.

The night ended with Herrmann at 2,245 votes; Sobin at 2,026 votes; Piccatto at 1,793 votes. Trevier was left with 1,468 votes, and Piontek with 1,049 votes.

LaMoille Community Unit School

In the LaMoille School District, incumbent Mary Taylor and newcomers Roger Moore and Earl Stuepfert were voted onto the school board.

Taylor ran unopposed for an unexpired two-year term.

Because the LaMoille School Board cannot be made up of no more than three school board members from one township, Roger Moore snagged the third LaMoille Township seat with 269 votes. The three LaMoille Township Board members are now Brent Becker, Taylor and Moore.

New candidate Earl Stuepfert of Westfield Township made it to the board, as he collected 293 votes. The three Westfield Township board members are Jeff Pinter, Mary Stouffer and Stuepfert.

Although Kevin Hildebrand collected 210 votes and the results appear to look like he snagged a seat, he cannot sit on the board because he lives in LaMoille Township, and the three spots are filled.

The board will have to appoint a board member to fill the last seat available on the board. The person appointed will have to live in either Clarion, Berlin or May townships.

Comment on this story at

Loading more