70°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

IVCC announces winners of high school writing contest

Published: Monday, May 6, 2013 3:20 p.m. CDT

OGLESBY — Illinois Valley Community College has announced the winners of its 2013 high school writing competition.

Katlyn Gealow of Oglesby, who attends LaSalle-Peru Township High School, won first place in the essay writing contest. Yesenia Castro of Spring Valley, a Hall Township High School student, took second. Third place was awarded to L-P student, Robert Henry of LaSalle.

In the journalism competition, Hall High School senior Drew Lechner of Spring Valley won first place, L-P senior Nadia Valentine of LaSalle won second and Ottawa Township High School senior Clayton Conness of Ottawa took third.

Winners of the high school writing contest receive scholarships through the IVCC Foundation, and area high schools are invited to bring three high school seniors to compete in the writing competition each year.

The IVCC High School Writing Competition is chaired by English instructor Randy Rambo. English/journalism instructor Lori Cinotte coordinates the journalism portion of the contest. This year’s journalism scenario was presented by Jennifer Nagle, news director at WLPO radio station and an IVCC graduate.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News