74°FFairFull Forecast

IVCC students receive academic awards

Published: Friday, May 10, 2013 2:18 p.m. CDT

OGLESBY — More than 150 people attended Illinois Valley Community College’s 46th annual student academic awards banquet recently in the gymnasium.

Five students were named Thomas J. McCormack Scholars, one of the highest academic honors awarded at the college. McCormack Scholars are Daniel Johnson of LaSalle, Andrew Amm and Fielding Lockas of Ottawa, Nora Sedlock of Streator and Stephen Halm of Utica. To qualify, students must maintain a minimum 3.75 grade point average in at least 14 hours over three consecutive semesters.

Students honored for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Illinois Academic Team were Jessie Hodgson of Oglesby and Jerril “Jay” Jones of Ottawa.

Students honored for earning GPAs of 3.25 or higher in 12 or more hours for three consecutive semesters were: Emily Burkman of Bureau; Trevor Mills and Blake Slutz of LaMoille; Brady Kaiser-Bell, Katherine Millard, Colton Pate and Elizabeth Voitik of Princeton; Ashley Gonzalez, Brett Herrmann, Cory Narczewski and Kelly Palmer of Spring Valley; Brittany Youssi of Van Orin; and Shaunessy Gatch of Wyanet.

Students achieving GPAs of 3.25 or higher in 12 or more hours for two consecutive semesters were: Cortland Klinefelter and Jennifer Wick of DePue; Danielle Denner of Dover; Kaitlynn Dinges and Jessie Winchel of LaMoille; Christopher Winn of Ladd; Theodore Bartoli, Brianna Kamphuis, Emily Lund, Kevin Stanton and Stephanie Woolley of Princeton; Christopher Jacobsen, Hanna Kosciewicz, Lacey Kwiatek, Debra Perino, Janelle Shrimplin and Peter Thomas of Spring Valley; and Natalie Pennock and Hailey Schindel of Tiskilwa.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!