43°FFairFull Forecast

Nine Hall students inducted into National Honor Society

Published: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 2:26 p.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 2:29 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
Hall High School National Honor Society Sponsor Barbara Fulara (front row, from left) is pictured with new members Kaitlyn Padgett, Jenna Edington, Kaylee Golden, Rachel Bezely; and (back row) Olivia Bergagna, Ranay Loehr, Clarissa Gerrard, Rebecca Herrmann and Ashley Keegan. The students were inducted during a ceremony on April 30.

SPRING VALLEY — The Hall High School National Honor Society held its induction ceremony at 10 a.m. April 30.

The entire student body and faculty were in attendance, as well as family members of NHS inductees. The Hall High School band provided music for the ceremony.

The National Honor Society is a very prestigious club.

NHS members must be outstanding in service, leadership and character, as well as scholarship.

A candidate must have a cumulative grade point average of 4.0 or higher. Potential candidates fill out activity sheets, and then a select group of teachers (selected on a rotating basis) score the applicants based on service, leadership, and character.

Current NHS members are: Sam Rizzo, president; Katie Hoffert, vice president; Jacquie Wallaert, secretary; Zach Croisant, treasurer; and Abney Bernardini, Matt Boucher, Olivia Brandner, Yesenia Castro, Rebekah Dagraedt, Nicole Ernat, Brett Fanning, Madisson Giacometti, Valerie Hoffert, Drew Lechner, Robert Charles Lentz III, Jacquelyn Petzel, Landon Piccatto, Alysia Scott and Stephanie Stocking.

Teachers who were inducted into the National Honor Society when they were in high school were honored. Those teachers recognized were Donna Albrecht, Debra Arreguin, Julie Anderson, Jill Bruner, Darcy Earley, Barbara Fulara, Brian Green, Nick Hanck, Bettyann Harrison, Kayleen Haslam, Karen Klopcic, Rob Malerk, Josiah Martin, Kathy Martin, Carolyn Neuhalfen, Gina Puck and Jessica Strouss.

Nine students were inducted this year. New members include: Olivia Bergagna, the daughter of Teresa Bergagna and Steven Bergagna; Rachel Bezely, the daughter of Joe and Rhonda Bezely; Jenna Edington, the daughter of Jessie and Wendy Edington; Clarissa Gerrard, the daughter of John and Donna Gerrard; Kaylee Golden, the daughter of Tina and Vern Golden; Rebecca Herrmann, the daughter of Pat and Charlotte Herrmann; Ashley Keegan, the daughter of Tom and Shelly Keegan; Ranay Loehr, the daughter of Rodney and Rachell Janssen; and Kaitlyn Padgett, the daughter of James and Kathryn Padgett.

All NHS members and parents were honored at a reception held immediately after the ceremony in the gym lobby. The NHS sponsor is Barbara Fulara.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!