69°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

AARP seeks nominees for service award

CHICAGO — AARP is now accepting nominations for its 2013 Illinois Andrus Award for Community Service honoring 50-plus Illinoisans who share their experience, talent and skills to enrich the lives of their community members. Named for the Association’s founder, it is AARP’s most prestigious and visible volunteer award.

“AARP has a strong commitment to volunteer service that is traced back to our founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus,” said Merri Dee, AARP Illinois state president. “The Andrus Award recognizes those individuals who tirelessly give of themselves in ways that significantly enrich the lives of others and their communities.”

AARP selects one Andrus Award volunteer per state (or couple performing service together). Nominees do not need to be an AARP member nor do they need to have performed AARP volunteer work in order to receive the award. Nominations will be evaluated by the AARP Illinois Executive Council based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

AARP Illinois Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

• Nominees must be 50 years or older.

• The achievements, accomplishments or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.

• The achievements, accomplishments or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.

• Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

• The recipient must live in Illinois.

• This is not a posthumous award.

The AARP State Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 52 outstanding individuals from around the country.

Individuals and organizations can submit nominations for the 2013 Andrus Award for Community Service by visiting www.aarp.org/AndrusAward. The application deadline is June 1. More information is available by calling 866-448-3613.


Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News