Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Hall High School holds awards program

SPRING VALLEY — Hall High School held its annual convocation and awards program on May 1 at Celebrations 150. Faculty members, administrators, board members, sponsors, students and students’ families were in attendance.

Scholarships and their recipients include the following.

Trovillo Scholarship: Miguel Aldana, Olivia Brandner, Zachary Croisant, Rebekah Dagraedt, Alicia Detmers, Katie Hoffert, Valerie Hoffert, Drew Lechner, Joseph Parochetti, Landon Piccatto, Anthony Scheri, Samuel Rizzo and Jacquie Wallaert.

Kleinfall Scholarship: Valerie Hoffert and Drew Lechner.

Hall Booster Organization scholarships: Alicia Detmers and Katie Hoffert.

Helen Koch Volunteer Award/Scholarship: Zachary Croisant.

Bureau County Farm Bureau Foundation: Stephanie Stocking.

Red Devil Touchdown Club Gary Vicini Scholarship: Sam Rizzo.

Red Devil Touchdown Club Daniel Lule Scholarship: Landon Piccatto.

American Red Cross Scholarship: Abney Bernardini.

Illinois Sheriff’s Association Scholarship: David McManus.

Brandner Scholarship: Olivia Brandner.

Greg Colmone Scholarship: Samuel Rizzo and Rebekah Dagraedt.

North Central Bank Community Bank Essay Scholarship: Rebekah Dagraedt and Zachary Croisant.

The LeRoy Bertrand Scholarship: Nicole Ernat and Daniel Nolasco.

The American Legion, Dominic Oberto, Post No. 182-Scholarship Award: Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Robert Lentz, Samuel Rizzo and Alex Olivares.

IHSA All-State Academic Team nominees: Katie Hoffert and Alex Olivares.

News Tribune All-Academic Team: Samuel Rizzo.

News Tribune All-Academic Team Honorable Mention: Robert Lentz and Alex Olivares.

Top Underclassmen (scholastic average)

Freshmen: Tanja Acamovic, Andrew Pullam, Marco Uribe, Brooke Keegan and Jacob Merkel.

Sophomores: Luke Lee Brown, Alberto Baldonado, Josephine Wales, Hayley Cessna and Tyler Pullam.

Juniors: Rachel Bezely, Kaylee Golden, Rebecca Herrmann, Ashley Keegan, Nicholas Scheri and Brenna Faletti.

Valedictorians: Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Robert Lentz, Sam Rizzo

Salutatorian: Alex Olivares.

Medals given to the top 10 of the graduating class to be worn at graduation went to Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Robert Lentz, Sam Rizzo, Alex Olivares, Jaquelynne Hendricks, Jacquelyn Petzel, Drew Lechner, Landon Piccatto, Miguel Aldana, Olivia Brandner, Valerie Hoffert and Alysia Scott.

Gold Tassels given to students who have a 4.2 average or better were awarded to Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Robert Lentz, Sam Rizzo, Alex Olivares, Jaquelynne Hendricks, Jacquelyn Petzel, Drew Lechner, Landon Piccatto, Miguel Aldana, Olivia Brandner, Valerie Hoffert, Alysia Scott, Kayla Bersztaitis, Anthony Biccochi, Yesenia Castro, Kari Cissell, Zachary Croisant, Brett Fanning, Gabriella Iossi, Samantha Manfredini, Daniel Nolasco, Wesley Parks, Joseph Parochetti, Rylee Redd, Tara Rietman, Antonio Scheri, Raianna Snyder, Stephanie Stocking and Jacquie Wallaert.

Illinois State Scholars are Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Drew Lechner, Robert Lentz, Alex Olivares, Jaquelyn Petzel, Landon Piccatto and Sam Rizzo.

WYSE Sectional Winner: Luke Lee Brown.

DAR award winner: Jacquie Wallaert.

SAR award winner: Sam Rizzo.

Hugh O‘Brien Youth Leadership Award: Ryan Cinotte.

Golden Apple Foundation Award: Valerie Hoffert.

Honors Activities Club Senior of the Year: Jaquelynne Hendricks.

James Francisco 150 PercentAward: Anthony Biccochi.

Power Mechanics Club Award: Brady Callan.

Richard Fling Memorial Award (most improved): Alberto Baldonado.

Snoopy Award (vocal excellence in a play production): Yesenia Castro.

Peg Cassiday Memorial Citizenship Award: Jacquie Wallaert, Robert Lentz and Sam Rizzo.

Francee Wolf Memorial Heart and Soul Award: Katie Hoffert and Sam Rizzo.

Elks Club Teens of the Month: Rebekah Dagraedt, Katie Hoffert, Sam Rizzo, Olivia Brandner, Yesenia Castro, Zachary Croisant, Drew Lechner, Alex Olivares, Landon Piccatto and Jacquie Wallaert.

Bureau County Teen of the Month: Landon Piccatto.

Student Council officers: Rebekah Dagraedt, president; Nicole Ernat, vice president.

Freshman Student Council president: Haley Lunn.

Freshman Student Council representives: Noah Gingrich, Dominic Marenda.

Sophomore Class officers: Lexi Piccatto, president; Hannah Barns, vice president; Samantha Osborn, treasurer; and Hayley Cessna, Tyler Pullam, Carlee Yuvan, Josephine Wales, representatives.

Junior Class officers: Kaylee Golden, president; Rachel Bezely, vice president; Rebecca Herrmann, secretary; Brenna Faletti, treasurer; Jenna Edington, Kathryn Destri and Kayla Musgrave, representatives.

Senior Class officers: Landon Piccatto, president; Katie Hoffert, vice president; Jacquie Wallaert, secretary; Zachary Croisant, Sam Rizzo, Brett Fanning and Jena Dalzot, representatives.

French Scholastic Award: Jacquelyn Petzel, Rebekah Dagraedt and Kayla Bersztaitis.

Stole Winners (highest average in content areas): English,Yesenia Castro and Landon Piccatto; French, Jacquelyn Petzel; Spanish, Sam Rizzo; math, Sam Rizzo; science, Sam Rizzo; social studies, Sam Rizzo; fine arts (art), Jacquie Wallaert and Jaquelynne Hendricks; fine arts (Vocal Music), Olivia Brandner; industrial technology, auto/power, Joe Parochetti; area career center: Allison Puente.

National Honor Society Members: Second year members - Abney Bernardini, Matthew Boucher, Olivia Brandner, Yesenia Castro, Zachary Croisant, Rebekah Dagraedt, Nicole Ernat, Brett Fanning, Madisson Giacometti, Katie Hoffert, Valerie Hoffert, Drew Lechner, Robert Lentz, Jacquelyn Petzel, Landon Picatto, Allison Puente, Sam Rizzo, Alysia Scott, Stephanie Stocking and Jacquie Wallaert; first year members - Olivia Bergagna, Rachel Bezely, Jenna Edington, Clarissa Gerrard, Kaylee Golden, Rebecca Herrmann, Ashley Keegan, Ranay Loehr and Kaitlyn Padgett.

The ceremonial torch was passed from 2012-13 senior class president Landon Piccatto to 2013-14 senior class president Rachel Bezely; 2012-13 student council president Rebekah Dagraedt to 2013-14 student council president Kaylee Golden.

Loading more