59°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Olivero named IVCC Board chair

OGLESBY — Melissa Olivero of Peru was elected chair at a special reorganizational meeting of the Illinois Valley Community College Board May 7.

Olivero was first elected to the board in April 2009 and appointed vice chair in May 2011. She replaces Dennis Thompson of Princeton who served the board for eight years. Thompson received a standing ovation as he exited the meeting.

Trustees also elected Mike Driscoll of Ottawa vice chair and Larry Huffman of Peru secretary. Board attorney Walter J. Zukowski, treasurer Cheryl Roelfsema and secretary to the board Jeanne Hayden were all reappointed.

Olivero made the following committee appointments: David Mallery of Hennepin as the Illinois Community College Trustees Association representative and newly-elected trustee Laurie Bonucci of Princeton as the alternate; closed session minutes: Huffman chair, Bonucci and Everett Solon of Streator; facilities: Mallery chair, Bonucci and Olivero; audit finance: Huffman chair, Driscoll and Solon; and planning: Driscoll chair, newly-elected trustee Jane Goetz of Ottawa and Mallery.

“With the leadership team we have in place on our board, the college is well-positioned for progress,” said IVCC President Jerry Corcoran.

In other business, the board canvassed votes from the April 9 election. Vote totals were: Goetz, 14,931; Bonucci, 14,760; and Brandon Evans of Oglesby 8,745. Goetz and Bonucci were elected to six-year terms. Finally, the board voted to continue meeting at 6:30 p.m. the third Tuesday of each month. Trustees will meet next on May 21.


Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!