43°FFairFull Forecast

Princeton Christian Academy students win state essay contests

Published: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 2:41 p.m. CDT

Mauricio Jones, an eighth-grade student at Princeton Christian Academy, has won the state title in the Elks Illinois State Essay contest held this spring.

More than 1600 students from all over the state competed in this contest. Jones won second in the state last year in this same contest.

The steps to the state title included first winning the local lodge contest, then the Northwest District contest which includes Mendota, Galena, Sycamore, Rock Island, Dixon, Oglesby, Freeport, DeKalb, and Princeton, before competing against all districts in the state of Illinois.

Jones has won a total of $650 for his successful essay. He wrote the essay in his PCA English class taught by Marty Kiser. Mauricio is the son of Darin and Beth Jones of LaMoille.

Anna Grey, a fifth-grade student at Princeton Christian Academy, won second place with her essay in the Elks Grand Lodge contest for Division I. Anna’s essay was entitled “What the Pledge of Allegiance Means to Me.” Anna wrote her essay in Wendy Luft’s English class at PCA. Anna is the daughter of Buc and Carmen Grey of Princeton.

Both students were honored at the Elks Awards Dinner May 8 at the Princeton Elks Lodge.

This is the third year in a row that Princeton Christian Academy has had state and national winners in the Elks essay contests.

Penny Best is the State Americanism Chair who organizes and runs these essay contests.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News