Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

State champ

LaMoille Allen’s Bret Dannis leads the seventh-grade 110 hurdles race during  Saturday’s IESA State finals. He had a winning time of 17.16.
LaMoille Allen’s Bret Dannis leads the seventh-grade 110 hurdles race during Saturday’s IESA State finals. He had a winning time of 17.16.

Bureau County has a new state champion.

LaMoille Allen’s Bret Dannis captured the IESA seventh-grade, 110-meter hurdle State championship Saturday in East Peoria with a time of 17.16 seconds.

He advanced on Friday placing first in the semifinals with a time of 17.28.

Dannis said going to State was exciting and he had a lot of fun. He was also glad to be able to win for his hometown of Arlington.

He is the second IESA State champion from Allen in four years and third overall. Russell Buettner won the seventh-grade discus in 2010 as did Cory Schallorn in 1999.

Bureau Valley South produced a State runner-up in Sabrina Webb, who placed second in the seventh-grade girls high jump. She also ran on the Storm’s fifth-place 4x400 relay with Kaylee Towne, Heather Williams and Casey Mecum.

Mecum added a seventh-place medal in the 400.

Austin Wierzbecki of Bureau Valley North landed three individual state medals and picked up a fourth in relays in the seventh-grade boys competition. Wierzbecki placed third in long jump (17-5) and the 1600 (5:12.84) and fifth in the 800 (2:21.24). He also teamed up with Payton Moore, Drew Baker and A.J. Hockings to place fifth in the 4x200 (1:51.64).

BVN finished seventh as a team with 20 points.

Ohio’s Maddy Deery received a third-place medal in the seventh-grade shot put competition. (27-10 3/4). She also placed 11th in the discus (70-7).

DePue seventh-grader Austin Kiest ran to a third-place finish in the 400 (55.51). He also ran on the Spartans’ second-place 4x400 (3:59.66), joined by Garcia, Gallardo and David Moreno. Heber Moreno just missed a medal with a ninth-place showing in the seventh-grade discus.

Ladd’s Maddie Quinn placed third in the eighth-grade hurdles (16.68) and pole vault (8-3). Classmate Michael Manning was eighth in the discus (133-9)

Annawan’s Jayde VanHyfte was second in the seventh-grade girls long jump (15-7 1/2) and fifth in the shot put (27-6). The Annawan seventh-graders also placed third in the 4x100 (55.59) and Ben Buresh was sixth in the seventh-grade shot put (37-11 3/4) and eighth in the 400 (59.33).

• Princeton Logan qualified in four events for 2A IESA State competition at the Braidwood Sectional on Saturday. Logan won the seventh-grade 4x200 sectional championship on the legs of Drake Davis, Kendle Whitford, Alex Janssen and Brett Schenck, who clocked a top time of 1:50.05.

Both Schenck (100, 12.39) and Whitford (400, 59.68) qualified individually with second-place finishes. Austin Wetsel advanced in the eighth-grade shot put with a second place toss of 35-7.

Other top place-finishers for the Logan seventh-graders Anna Murray in the 100 (13.96) and third in the hurdles (17.86), the third-place 4x200 relay (2:05.76) of Maddie Eckard, Regan Hubbard, Brittany Kamphuis and Kaitlin May, Hubbard (fourth, pole vault for the girls and Schenck (third, 200), Jacob Darnell (fourth, hurdle), Garrett Allen (fifth, hurdles, shot), Alex Janssen (third, shot), and the 4x400 of Darnell, Davis, Brant Hendrickson and Janssen (third) for the boys.

Top eighth-grade place finishers were the third place 4x200 relay of Rachel Anson, Kimmy Duong, Jamie Kuhn and Michaela Mall (fifth, long jump), Janae Mitchell (fifth, shot), Sarah Murray (fifth, 200) for the girls and Justin Darnell (fifth, 400), Blake Janssen (fourth, hurdles) and the 4x200 of Zachary Daniel, Janssen, Austin Hilmes and Austin Wetsel.

Loading more