Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Princeton High School honors students at awards night

PRINCETON — Princeton High School held its Awards night on May 20.

Valedictorians — Andrew Birkey, Kate Morrow, Genevieve Prushinski, Austin Rosene and Hunter Schultz.

Salutatorians — Kathryn Krieger and Emmalee Sears.

Board of Education Academic Excellence Awards — Seniors: Zia Bickett Kimberley, Andrew Birkey, Kathryn Krieger, Kelsi McClure, Kate Morrow, Genevieve Prushinski, Austin Rosene, Hunter Schultz and Emmalee Sears. Juniors: Zachary Andersen, Michelle Kelly, Kelly Schmidt and Megan Smith. Sophomores: Taylor Clark, Garrett Duffin, Jacob Gleason, Nicole Holland, Brittany Krohn, Chloe Lund, Anjali Patel, Kim Schlesinger, Alison Van Den Bussche and Joshua Wray. Freshmen: Jacob Doan.

National Honor Society — Taylor Behrends, Andrew Birkey, Stephanie Blessman, Kayla Fawcett, Kathryn Krieger, Lexi Marselle, Beau Minnick, Kate Morrow, Katherine Pranka, Genevieve Prushinski, Hunter Schultz, Emmalee Sears, Aubrey Smith and Taylor Smith.

Scholastic Bowl — Zia Bickett Kimberley, Andrew Birkey, Max Boes, Kate Morrow, Austin Rosene, Hunter Schultz and Taylor Smith.

Adele Zearing Gibbs Performing Arts Scholarship — Daniel Bonucci.

Princeton Lions Club Scholarship — Kathryn Krieger and Kate Morrow.

Robert Lautzenhiser Service Learning Award — Emily Olson and Nicole Walker.

IVCC Tuition Program — Kristyn Bettner, Zia Bickett Kimberley, Kayla Fawcett, Sydney Hall, McCaela May, James Murray, Brodrick Proffitt, Aubrianna Snell and Nicole Walker.

Nelson Family Trust Scholarship — Anthony Egan and Collin Schertz.

Tiskilwa Alumni Association — Brody Proffitt, Yasmine Imtairah, Taylor Behrends and Emmalee Sears.

Princeton Jaycees Scholarship — Kathryn Krieger and Cody Burrows.

Shirley and Dale Espel Memorial Scholarship — Kathryn Krieger and Emmalee Sears.

Crop Production Services Scholarship — Anthony Egan.

Tiskilwa Community Association — Brody Proffitt and Taylor Joiner.

Virden White Scholarship — Aaron Carrow.

Smallwood Sportsman of the Year — Aaron Carrow.

Illinois State Scholars — Andrew Birkey, Daniel Bonucci, Cody Burrows, Ryan Enbom, Cody Griffin, Kathryn Krieger, Lexi Marselle, Beau Minnick, Kate Morrow, Katherine Pranka, Genevieve Prushinski, Austin Rosene, Hunter Schultz, Emmalee Sears, Scott Sledgister and Taylor Smith.

Charles Phelps Family Scholarship — Taylor Smith.

Marcella Borge Keener Art Award — Kathryn Krieger.

Paula Matthews Memorial Award — Victoria Dann.

Outstanding Business Student — Brody Proffitt.

Perfect Attendance Award — Seniors: Taylor Behrends, Kristyn Bettner, Andrew Birkey, Kaitlynn Burns and Kayla Fawcett. Juniors: Steven Behrends, Lindsay Bickett, Jessica Birkey, Joe Kunkel and Bryanna Lehn. Sophomores: Taylor Clark, Miles Rose and Daniel Wolf. Freshmen — Jacob Bickett, Jaimee Ciesielski, Jacob Doan, Brianna Legner and Mary Sims.

Prairie State Achievement Award — Rosaura Almaraz, Andrew Birkey, Daniel Bonucci, Cody Burrows, Ryan Enbom, Austin Freeberg, Cody Griffin, Joshua Kieffer, Kathryn Krieger, Lexi Marselle, Beau Minnick, Kate Morrow, Katherine Pranka, Brody Proffitt, Genevieve Prushinski, Suzann Prushinski, Austin Rosene, Hunter Schultz, Emmalee Sears, Scott Sledgister, Taylor Smith, Austen Stewart, Nicholas Toth and Matthew Vidican.

Service Learning Hours Accomplishment — Seniors: Alex Adams, Taylor Behrends, Zia Bickett Kimberley, Andrew Birkey, Daniel Bonucci, Paige Clark, Anthony Egan, Kayla Fawcett, Sheila Ferguson, Amber Gray, Cody Griffin, Taylor Joiner, Kathryn Krieger, Kate Morrow, Emily Olson, Genevieve Prushinski, Mackenzie Schafer, Emmalee Sears, Phoenix Smallwood, Aubrey Smith, Taylor Smith, Aubrianna Snell, Austen Stewart, Rebecca Turpen, Allison VonHolton, Nicole Walker and Makenzey Wilson. Juniors: Brody Anderson, Cody Bader, Mollie Bates, Connor Bays, Steven Behrends, Jon Bibula, Jessica Birkey, Nathan Bopes, Clifton Camp, Katie Davis, Caleb Dickens, Tiffany De Guzman, Nick Estelle, Brady Frank, Rachel Frank, Doug Frazier, Kaelynn Geheber, Ryan Grieff, Lindsay Hartwig, Collin Hasbrook, Alyssa Hattan, Cydney Hayes, Hailey Hedden, Rebecca Hult, Quillie Jackson, Turner Jamison, Ryan Jensen, Olivia Joehl, Julia Jones, Annette Knudsen, Chris Layton, Hannah Lund, Erin Makransky, Jessica Medley, Hailey Michael, Alexis Mink, Kelsey Moore, Jennifer O’Neil, Jake Reeverts, Hunter Rodda, Rebekah Rowland, Madison Russelberg, Kelly Schmidt, Mariah Smith, Megan Smith, Caleb Strom, Isaiah Taylor, Evelyn Vergamini, Dylan Tyner-Williams, Shen Hui Wang, Logan Wilde and Bryann Williams.

Keith Schultz Memorial Award — Zachary Andersen, Michelle Kelly and Kelly Schmidt.

Lyle King Award — Emmalee Sears, Austen Stewart and Makenzey Wilson.

Outstanding Senior Athlete — Andrew Birkey, Cole Evenson, Heidi James, Kathryn Krieger, Aaron Ray and Austen Stewart.

IHSA Scholastic Achievement Award — Seniors: Taylor Behrends, Zia Bickett Kimberley, Andrew Birkey, Stephanie Blessman, Daniel Bonucci, Cody Burrows, Ryan Enbom, Kayla Fawcett, Cody Griffin, Brody Hunt, Yasmine Imtairah, Heidi James, Kathryn Krieger, Lexi Marselle, Kate Morrow, Nolan Piper, Katherine Pranka, Genevieve Prushinski, Suzann Prushinski, Austin Rosene, Mackenzie Schafer, Hunter Schultz, Emmalee Sears, Taylor Smith, Nicholas Toth, Emily Willis and Makenzey Wilson. Juniors: Zachary Andersen, Mollie Bates, Laura Behrends, Jessica Birkey, Tiffany DeGuzman, Lindsay Hartwig, Brittany Hayes, Hailey Hedden, Mason Hunt, Ryan Jensen, Michelle Kelly, Meredith Lindeland, Zoe Mead, Ryan Owens, Emma Reidner, Hunter Rodda, Kelly Schmidt, Megan Smith and Courtney Webb.

Masonic Athlete of the Year — Makenzey Wilson and Austen Stewart.

Mary Denault Soccer Scholarships — Lexi Marselle.

Palmer Science Award — Austin Rosene.

Princeton Federation of the Teacher’s District #115 Scholarship — Stephanie Blessman.

First Class Awards — Seniors: Andrew Birkey, Stephanie Blessman, A.J. Egan, Katie Elliott, Austin Freeberg, Carlee Johnson, Jonathan Kaler, Josh Kieffer, Savanah Knudsen, Kathryn Krieger, Austin Mack, Aspen Sampson, Aubrey Smith, Justin Smith, Austen Stewart, Nicole Walker, Emily Willis and Nicole Worgess. Juniors: Mollie Bates, Laura Behrends, Steven Behrends, Justice Blythe, Tiffany DeGuzman, Lindsay Hartwig, Zach Hicks, Jake Reeverts, Elizabeth Stites and Bryann Williams. Sophomores: Keyenna Altizer, Michael Camp, Taylor Carlson, Tyler Clark, Allison Dylo, Zach Friel, Chloe Lund, Anjali Patel, Kaitlynn Schmitt, Ann Sims. Freshmen: Anna Allen, Jacob Doan, Angelica Jones, Harold Ramsey, Dana Rawlings, Hailey Schultz and Mary Sims.

Princeton Rotary Scholarship — Andrew Birkey, Kathryn Krieger, Kate Morrow, Genevieve Prushinski and Emmalee Sears.

Bernardi Securities, Inc. Scholarship — Katie Elliott.

Chopin Piano Award — Kathryn Krieger.

National School Choral Award — Kathryn Krieger.

Michael Skean Award— Kathryn Krieger.

John Philip Sousa Award — Tyler Parish.

Director’s Award — Tyler Parish.

Joy E. Schertz Music Camp Scholarship — Kelly Schmidt.

Princeton, Illinois Chapter D.A.R. American History Award — Kate Morrow.

IHSA All Academic Team Nominees — Andrew Birkey and Kathryn Krieger.

IPA Principal’s Award — Emmalee Sears and Seth Sprouse.

Loading more