Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Bureau Valley High School holds awards program

MANLIUS — Bureau Valley High School held its achievement awards program on May 15. Students recognized during the event were:

Perfect attendance — Carl Anderson, Justin Anderson, Nicole Bannick, Savanna Brunoehler, Seth Cambron, Tyler DeBrock, Kane Eastwood, Drew Fordham, Ashley Guenther, Andrew Harshman, Dacia Henning, David Miller, Josh Mead, Lauren Peterson, Ashley Phillips, Danae Ross, Caitlin Scott, Sean Shepard and Gage Smith.

American Legion awards — Trevin Kennedy and Emily Phillips; honorable mention, Brian Lange and Krista Naaktgeboren.

D.A.R. award — Trevin Kennedy.

S.A.R. award — Emily Mathew.

Illinois State Scholars — Andrew Harshman, Hannah Holland, Trevin Kennedy, Samantha Krieger, Brian Lange, Emily Mathew, Conor Mooney, Krista Naaktgeboren, Emily Phillips and Danae Ross.

Prairie State Scholars — Carl Anderson, Nicki Butler, Caleb Bowyer, Jami Frasure, Andrew Harshman, Hannah Holland, Hunter Klemme, Samantha Krieger, Michael Lotspeich, Emily Mathew, Conor Mooney, Krista Naaktgeboren, Emily Phillips and Danae Ross.

President’s Education award — Carl Anderson, Tyler DeBrock, Andrew Harshman, Trevin Kennedy, Samantha Krieger, Hunter Klemme, Emily Mathew, Krista Naaktgeoren, Emily Phillips, Conor Mooney, Brian Lange, Danae Ross, Hannah Holland and Hannah Shearburn.

Sauk Scholar — Andrew Harshman.

U.S. Marine Corps awards — Krista Naaktgenboren, Distinguished Athlete Award; Danae Ross and Trevin Kennedy, Scholastic Excellence Award; Danae Ross and Andrew Harshman, Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence.

Veterans of Foreign Wars — Jordan Monier and Emily Mathew.

Voice of Democracy — Conor Mooney, first; Krista Naaktgeboren, second; and Emily Phillips, third.

Student Council representatives — seniors Emily Mathew, Trevin Kennedy, Conor Mooney and Tyler DeBrock; juniors Allisa Stoller, Frank Monier, Logan Twidell and Sadie Reinbeck; sophomores Josh Mead, Julie Edlefon, Keegan Mooney and Charles Lotspeich; and freshmen Abbey Howes, Chelsea Higgins, Emily Wall and Samantha Stocking.

TRAC 9 Art Conference — Lily Gould, Samantha Krieger, Federico Papa, Jacquelyn Phillips, Amber Shipp, Daniel Trone, Christy Williams and Hope Wollerman.

Scholastic Art award — Amber Shipp and Samantha Krieger.

Group 3, Duck Stamp winners — Breonna Balensiefen, first place; Savanna Bell, second place; Kian Cookson and Mariah Klemme, third place; and Sidney Kolb and Emily Wall, honorable mention.

Group 4, Duck Stamp winners — Dan Trone and Lea Stetson, first place; Jacquelyn Phillips and Claudia McHenry, second place; Lily Gould, Samantha Krieger and Lauren Peterson, third place; and Justin Anderson, Deston Boaz, Rachel Brummel, Salvador Guerero, Jacob Heidenriech, Monique Lopez, Rachel MacNaughton, Riley Michael, Josephine Mueller, Federico Papa, Lucie Reisberger, Amber Shipp, Haley Wierzbicki, Christy Williams and Hope Wollerman, honorable mention.

IVCC Art awards — Amber Shipp and Samantha Krieger.

IAEA Traveling Show Handbook Design (2013-14) winner — Deston Boaz.

Bausch & Lomb award — Andrew Jacobs.

Business award — Whitney Forward.

Family & Consumer Science award — Emily Mathew.

Math award — Krista Naaktgeboren.

Science award — Trevin Kennedy.

Grant Andresen Senior Social Studies award — Tyler DeBrock.

Spanish award — Trevin Kennedy.

National Spanish Test awards — Spanish I: Katelynn Aukes, Kelsey Dawson, Danielle Dzurisin, Krystyn Ehnle, Ashley Guenther, Sal Guerrero, Justin Holmberg, Mariah Klemme, Rick Lootens, Ashley Phillips, Kyle Reilly, Jamen Rinehart, Kalynn Sullivan and Emily Wall; Spanish II: Carlie Bickett, Brynley Colby, Alyssa Davis, Haley DeVoss, Caitlin Scott and Ali Siltman; Spanish III: Kate DeBrock, Sabrina Johnson and Nate Holmberg; and Spanish IV: Carl Anderson, Emily Mathew, Krista Naaktgeboren, Chris Pickard, Hannah Shearburn and Brandi Vance.

U.S. Army Reserve Scholar/Athlete — Emily Phillips and Brian Lange.

Athletic Booster Club Sportsmanship — Jordan Monier and Emily Mathew.

Bob O’Bryant 12 Star award — Logan Marquez.

Four-year plaques — Ryan Allen, Nick Catton, Mercedes Catton, Tyler DeBrock, Brandi DeWaele, Dylan Dykstra, Alyssa Fairbanks, Whitney Forward, Frank Gebeck, Bryce Hansen, Andrew Harshman, Logan Hoffert, Catherine Johnson, Trevin Kennedy, Hunter Klemme, Kristian Konneck, McKinley Kruger, Brian Lange, Josh Lewis, Logan Marquez, Emily Mathew, Cody Mattingly, Josh Merry, Jordan Monier, Krista Naaktgeboren, Emily Phillips, Josh Renner, Danae Ross, Bryanna Smith and Keaton Wgenknecht.

Three Rivers academic all-conference — Carl Anderson, Jed Barns, Heaven Bennett, Jeremiah Blackert, Nicole Bornscheuer, Justin Buckman, Nicki Butler, Trey Dale, Savannah Dean, Lacey DeVenney, Haley DeVoss, Brandi DeWaele, Kane Eastwood, Joe Fisher, Whitney Forward, Riley Francis, Andrew Harshman, Lindsey Hoffert, Logan Hoffert, Abbey Howes, Andrew Jacobs, Katelin Johnson, Sabrina Johnson, Dana Kepner, Darcy Kepner, Hunter Klemme, Kristian Konneck, Samantha Krieger, Brian Lange, Sydney Lebahn, Emily Mathew, Cody Mattingly, Martin McMahon, Frank Moner, Jordan Monier, Conor Mooney, Krista Naaktgeboren, Parker Neuhalfen, Janelle Norden, Colton Peterson, Lauren Peterson, Irini Petros, Emily Phillips, Christopher Pickard, Chase Pierce, Josh Renner, Danae Ross, Kalie Rumbold, Tucker Schoff, Caitlin Scott, Kelly Sierens, Andrew Smith, Allisa Stoller, Daniel Trone, Logan Twidell and Regan Weidner.

Loading more