Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Slinging in the rain at Manlius Rolle Bolle

Joel Stahl repeats as the Panther Stomp5K winner in Bradford.
Joel Stahl repeats as the Panther Stomp5K winner in Bradford.

They were slinging in the rain Wednesday in the Manlius Rolle Bolle League.

Winning first were Ann Chapman, Tony Marchand and Riley DeBrock. Second to Allison DeBrock, Michael J. Michlig and Richard Taylor. Third won by Lisa Marchand, Janet H. and Mitch Smith. Fourth awarded to Coleen VanKerreBroeck, Shannon Carmichael and Harold Oloffson. Fifth was won by Max Naert, Dan Chapman and Tyler Heitzler.

Thirty bolders also came to play in last week’s Manlius Rolle Bolle League and Lindsey Hartwig, Tony Marchand and Tyler DeBrock claimed first. Second went to Rita Frank, Lisa Marchand and Rod Nelson, third place went to Allison DeBrock, Dennis Kepner and Dan Chapman, fourth went to Elizabeth Sullivan, Roger DeBrock and Darrell Wallace; and fifth place went to Coleen VanKerreBroeck, Kenny Rodgers and Richard Taylor.

The season opener at May 23 saw Rachael VanKerreBroeck, Rob Morey and Darrell Wallace came away with first place with Brooklyn Lehn, Rita Frank and Tyler DeBrock in second.

The Panther Stomp: On May 31 the Bradford School District closed the school year with the second annual Panther Stomp 5K run/walk. The 5K was open to 5th graders to adults, the half-mile race was for 3rd and 4th graders, the quarter-mile race was for 1st and 2nd graders and the 100-meter dash for kindergarten and pre-kindergarten.

All money collected goes to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in memory of Andrew Wall and in honor of Tayler Gage. Through entry fees and donations a total of $1,100 was raised for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Andrew’s grandparents, Ron and Blanche Wall made a matching donation.

The winner of the 5K for the second year in a row was Joel Stahl from Bradford in a time of 18:47.45. The first female finisher was Candace Stahl of Bradford in a time of 26:45.66.

The winner of the half mile was Jacob Bickett and the first female finisher was McKenzie Stahl.

The winner of the quarter mile was Collin Gudeman and the first female finisher was Emma Stumpf.

The winners of the 100M dash in a tie were Ryder Stumpf and Haylie Moodi

Annawan 5K: Jason Henkins, 20, of Kewanee (16:21) and Kelley Timmerman, 48, of Geneseo (20:12) were the top finishers in the Carol M. Guthrie Memorial 5K in Annawan on June 2.

Olds-Bohm Memorial: The Nancy Olds-Bohm 5K Fun Run/Walk, 1-mile Memory Walk, and Kid’s Fun Run will be held July 13 at 8 a.m. at the Wyanet Memorial Park. Registration is $15 before July 1, $20 after July 1, and  $5 for the Kid’s Fun Run
Visit www.oldsbohm5k@yahoo.com for information, map, and entry form. There will be raffle items available, too.

Reagan Run: More than 1,500 participants are expected for the annual Reagan Run 5K on July 6 in downtown Dixon. The race is part of Dixon’s Petunia Festival.

The race begins at 8 a.m. with the start line located just steps away from Ronald Reagan’s Boyhood Home, 810 S. Hennepin Ave., Dixon. The unique course takes runners through downtown Dixon, across the Rock River, through wooded paths and finishes in Haymarket Square in the downtown.

Online registration is available at www.getmeregistered.com or www.reaganrun.com. Race Day Registration can be done up until 7:30 a.m. on the morning of the race at Haymarket Square.

For more information, call Dixon Main Street at 815-288-2308.

Loading more