Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

BVN announces awards

On Thursday, May 23 the Bureau Valley North Jr. High Awards Assembly was held in the gym.

Perfect Attendance — Katie Bannick, Megan Hunt, Benjamin Jackson and Marissa Zittle.

Scholastic Bowl Members — Hannah Atherton, Jade Blackert, Trent Cooksey, Chase Gripp, Stephanie Gripp, Benjamin Jackson, Elijah Lind, Joshua Monier, Alonzo Pressy, Ben Shipp, Bradley Sierens and Katie Smith.

Sixth Grade Student Council Representatives — Ben Shipp, Jay Kepner, Elijah Lind, Abbey Johnson, Stephanie Gripp and Emily Fordham.

Seventh Grade Student Council Representatives — Austin Wierzbicki, Danny Schoff, Christen Hurley and Jackson Hanson.

Eighth Grade Student Council Representatives — Jay Edlefson, Caje Peterson, Tiana Kennedy and Tyler Thompson.

Student Council Officers — President: Hunter Schoff; Vice President: Ellen Johnson; Secretary: Josie Lind; and Historian: Bradley Sierens.

Newspaper Staff — Katie Smith, Marissa Mungia, Josie Lind, Olivia Kerber, Payton Glafka and Hannah Atherton.

Million Word Readers — Michael Massa, Jason DeWaele, Olivia Kerber, Chase Gripp, Austin Wierzbicki, Nicole Stone, Hunter Lewis, Bradley Sierens, Benjamin Jackson, Jade Blackert, Katie Bannick, Jessica Linley, Stephanie Gripp and Elijah Lind.

Million Word Reader Top 3 — Katie Smith, Megan Hunt and Laini Kruse.

Caudill — Alexa Jacobs.

IMEA Band Award — Katie Smith.

IMEA Chorus Award — Joshua Monier, Sabrina Cisketti, Christen Hurley, Ellen Johnson, Josie Lind, Colbie Carl, Nataleigh Nugent, Hannah Atherton, Courtney Hoagland and Taylor Butler

BVEC Band Award — Marissa Mungia, Caje Peterson, Jay Edlefson, Jackson Hanson, Benjamin Jackson, Donald Rios, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Brendan McAlvey, Hunter Schoff, Sydney Sweenie, Savanah Jensen, Morgan Vick, Jessica Linley, Memphis Fisher, Connor Johnson, Danny Schoff, Dallas Hardy, Ian Carl, Rhiannon Staker, Katie Smith, Jennifer Linley, Elijah Lind, Josie Lind, Andrew Mazzei, Ellen Johnson, Bradley Sierens, Alexa Jacobs, Dana Macklin, Katie Bannick, Courtney Hoagland and Joshua Monier.

BVEC Chorus Award — Hunter Lewis, Trent Cooksey, Michael Law, Drew Baker, A.J. Hockings, Sabrina Cisketti, Jade Blackert, Nataleigh Nugent, Colbie Carl, Christen Hurley, Hannah Atherton and Taylor Butler.

Outstanding Band and Chorus — Caje Peterson (band), Josie Lind (chorus), Jay Edlefson (band) and Hunter Schoff (band).

Drama Club — Donald Rios, Joseph Peters, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, A.J. Hockings, Abbey Johnson, Trent Cooksey, Maddie McFadden, Kylee Hoagland, Joshua Monier, Katie Smith, Alonzo Pressy, Josie Lind, Olivia Kerber, Brendan McAlvey, Hannah Atherton, Zoe Zittle, Marissa Zittle, Sabrina Cisketti, Tanner Maynard, Payton Moore, Ben Shipp, Joe Green, Elijah Lind, Alyssa Heidenreich and Amber Dietz.

Drama Club Sets — Chasidy Johnson, Becca Butler, Hollie Peterson, Allie Glafka, Payton Glafka, Jackson Hanson and Courtney Hoagland.

Carol Stauter Visual Arts Award — Hunter Schoff.

Courtesy Awards — Hunter Schoff and Josie Lind.

Brandon Spears Award — Allan Kerber.

Pam Smith Drama Award — Hannah Atherton.

Language Arts Award — Alexa Jacobs.

Mathematics Award — Hunter Schoff.

Science Award — Katie Smith.

Social Studies Awards — Preston Balensiefen and Chase Gripp.

Athletics Awards — Hunter Schoff, Caje Peterson, Megan Hunt, Josie Lind, Laini Kruse and Jay Edlefson.

Outstanding Students — Josie Lind and Hunter Schoff.

Presidents Awards for Educational Excellence — Katie Smith, Caje Peterson, Marissa Mungia, Laini Kruse, Tiana Kennedy, Josie Lind, Hunter Schoff, Chase Gripp, Jay Edlefson, Preston Balensiefen, Hannah Atherton, Megan Hunt and Lexi Jacobs.

12 Scrolls Awards — Sydney Sweenie, Katie Smith, Caje Peterson, Marissa Mungia, Laini Kruse, Tiana Kennedy, Josie Lind, Dana Macklin, Hunter Schoff, Chase Gripp, Preston Balensiefen, Hannah Atherton,  Megan Hunt, Lexi Jacobs and Olivia Kerber.

Loading more