Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Board split on appointments

PRINCETON — The Bureau County Board has made six appointments to the local Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB), though not every appointment was made by a unanimous vote.

At Tuesday’s meeting, Board Chairman Dale Anderson recommended the appointments of Keith Ackerman, Gaile Arnold, Dawn Dove, Kevin Sangston, Adam Lind and Todd Buckman to the ETSB Board. Lind would replace Josef Vasquez, and Buckman would replace Jeff Bitting.

Instead of voting for the appointments as a group, county board member Michael Kohr asked for the appointments to be done separately. Though he could not state his reasons in open session, he would not be voting for Dove to be appointed to the board, Kohr said.

Anderson said he had talked with the ETSB chairman (Randy Philhower) who said Dove was qualified to be on the board and had done a capable job when serving previously on the board. She’s willing to serve on the board again, and he’s heard no complaints from ETSB Board members about Dove, Anderson said.

Dove’s appointment was approved by a 14 to 9 vote, with board members Rob Pozzi, Tom Ptasnik and Tom Giordano absent.

Voting in favor of the Dove appointment were Republicans Robert Albrecht, Ralph Anderson, Jim Donarski, Marshann Entwhistle, Marsha Lilley, Jeff Mangrich, Dan Rabe, Robin Rediger, Steve Sondgeroth, Connie Stetson, Loretta Volker, Kristi Warren, Derek Whited and Dale Anderson.

Voting against the appointment were Democrats Kohr, John Baracani, Joe Bassetti, Tom Dobrich, Deb Feeney, Mary Jane Marini, Mike Maynard, Bob McCook and Republican Jim Thompson.

In other business at Tuesday’s meeting, the county board unanimously approved two bridge projects totaling more than $800,000 for Hall and Neponset townships.

Transportation Committee Chairman Steve Sondgeroth presented the two bridge projects for consideration. The first project is the removal and replacement of an existing bridge structure which carries Township Road 398 over Spring Creek in Hall Township. The board awarded the contract to D. Construction, based in Coal City, with a low bid of $534,284.

The board also approved the removal and replacement of an existing bridge structure over West Fork of Spoon River in Neponset Township, The board awarded the contract to Curnyn Construction, based in Geneseo, with a low bid of $274,456.

In other highway department action, the county board unanimously approved rehiring John Gross of Wyanet for his second, six-year term as county highway engineer. The Illinois Department of Transportation, which splits the cost of the engineer’s salary 50/50 with the county, has approved the rehiring of Gross, Sondgeroth said.

Comment on this story at

Loading more