45°FFairFull Forecast

Lake DePue National Championship Boat Races

(BCR photo/Kevin Hieronymus)
Tim Small of Lighthouse Point, Fla., races to a first-place finish in the first heat of the 125cc Runabout in Friday’s opening day of the 2013 Lake DePue National Championship Boat Races. He went on to claim the national championship, one of 18 on the line this weekend on the water of Lake DePue, an event bringing thousands of fans to the tiny Bureau County village. Visit www.bcrnews.com and see Tuesday’s BCR for complete coverage.
(BCR photo/Kevin Hieronymus)
Longtime public address announcer Ray Rodda calls the races at Lake DePue with the help of his granddaughter, Ava Rodda, 4, of Westfield, Ind.

Winners in Friday's opening day of the National Championship Boat Races at Lake DePue were:

Tim Small, Lighthouse Point, Fla. - 125cc

J.J. Walls Jr., Danville, Ind. - C Racing Hydro.

Doug Hall, DeKalb, Md. - 500cc Hydro.

Brianna Payn, Center Point, Iowa - K Pro Hydro

Layton Owen, Grove, Okla. - OSY 400.

Jared Gryskiewicz, Loveland, Col. - 700cc Hydro.

Races continue at noon Saturday and 12:30 p.m. Sunday.


Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News