52°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Manlius throws last bolles of the season

(Photo contributed)
Michelle Coble and Denny Miller won 2013 club championships at Wyaton Hills. Other winning golfers and runners-up include Carol Towne, Nita Wyatt, Mary Stander, Nancy Pierson, Karen Towns, Nancy Bland, Sue Garvin, Millie Dean and Dorothy Oaks for the ladies and Colby Robbins, Gary Miller, Carl Prokes, Jeff Stocking, John Garvin, Gary Patterson,Fred Kimberley and Mick Towns for the men.

The Manlius Rolle Bolle League ended the summer season on Aug. 28 with 23 bolders present. This was the perfect season, as there were no rainout games.

Winners on Wednesday night were Allison DeBrock, Tyler DeBrock and Michael J Michlig. Second place went to Wilma Anderson, Roger DeBrock and Tyler Heitzler, third to Coleen VanKerreBroeck, Lisa Marchand and Merv Wilson, fourth to Rita Frank and Darrell Wallace rolling two and placing fifth were Donna Ericson, Kenny Rodgers and Tony Marchand.

Trophies were presented to the top three bolders throughout the summer and winners in women’s division were Lisa Marchand, 45 points, Coleen VanKerreBroeck, 34 points and Rita Frank, 23 points. Tony Marchand led the men with 46 points followed by Tyler DeBrock with 37 and in third was Rod Nelson with 36 points. The junior division was led by Allison DeBrock with 38 points, Max Naert with 13 and Kathryn Sullivan with 7.

Underground RR 5K: The 21st annual Underground Railroad 5K Run/Walk will be held Sept. 14 during the Homestead Festival. The race will begin and end at the Metro Center. Registration will be held from 6:45 to 7:30 a.m. with the race set for 8 a.m. The entry fee is $20 before race day and $25 on race day. For more information, call Tammy Lange at 815-872-0840.

Halloween Hustle 5K: The Ladd Community Education and Enrichment Foundation will host the Halloween Hustle 5K Run/Walk on Oct. 26 to benefit the students of Ladd CCSD No. 94. Entry fee is $20 if registered by Oct. 16 and $25 after. Ages 13 and under are $10. The race will start from Ladd School, 232 E. Cleveland St., Ladd. For more information, call 815-894-2363.

L-P Cavalier 5K run/walk: LaSalle-Peru Township High School Link Crew will host its first L-P Cavalier 5K run/walk starting at 8:30 a.m. Oct. 6 as part of LP’s Homecoming weekend activities. It will start beneath the L-P clock tower and end on the 50-yard line of Howard Fellows Stadium. The cost of participation is $20 before Oct. 2 and $25 on race day. L-P students can register for only $15 and a family package for those with more than three people in the family is $50.

Medals will be awarded to top winners, top alumni winners and top three winners by age bracket. All participants will receive a T-shirt. For registration forms and more information, visit www.lphs.net and www.starvedrockrunners.org. Proceeds from the event benefit the L-P Link Crew, an organization with the goal of helping freshmen adjust to the L-P environment and enhancing the leadership skills of upperclassmen.

Race slate: Other upcoming races on the Starved Rock Runners Circuit include: Fall Fitness 5K, Sept. 7, Peru (www.runrace.net), the 5K Run for SIDS awareness, Oct. 5, Spring Valley (sidsillinois.org), and the 5K Run for Behavioral Health Awareness, Oct. 12, Ottawa (www.active.com).

Down the fairway: Club champions for 2013 at Wyaton Hills are Denny Miller and Michelle Coble while Kenney Jones and Trudi Colby reign at Indian Hills.


Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News