Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

DeFauw repeats as HLGC club champ

The Hidden Lake Ladies Golf League held its closing dinner Sept. 18 with 25 ladies in attendance. After a short business meeting and re-election of Beth VanVooren as chairperson and Pat Corwin elected as vice chairperson, with Deb Bowen and Karen Taylor returning as secretary and treasurer, prizes were awarded.

Ringer score winners were Ann Sprowls on the front and Deb Zenger on the back.  Both decreased their original scores by 24 strokes.

Handicap tournament winners were Diane Walker, first, and VanVooren, second.

Patsy DeFauw regained her title as club champ with 159; Sally Riley was second with 166. A flight winner was VanVooren with a 178 and after a two hole play-off between Barb Peterson and Dorine Motley both tied at 179, Motley was victorious. Carlene Hebel won B flight with 196

Skins were awarded for the final night of play, with Maggie Mangold and Mae Britt each winning a skin with handicap. Riley, DeFauw and Taylor each won a skin for scratch

Corwin won most birdies with 5.

VanVooren won most improved and most 18 hole rounds with 95.

Riley won best 18 hole with 74. DeFauw and Taylor each had 79.

Team awards went to Johnson Agency claiming first place. Members on the team are  Ruth Hix, Britt, Virginia Moore, Motley, Walker and Kathy Lanham.

Second place team went to Michlig Grain, including Carol Roberson, DeFauw, Bowen, Taylor, Debbie Zenger and Corwin.

Eighteen ladies received birdie pins and Corwin receive an eagle pin along with her birdie pin which were included with their bucks for the year.

Loading more