Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Area gridders earn TRAC All-Conference honors

The Three Rivers Athletic Conference has released its 2013 All-Conference football teams for both divisions.

TRAC South: Rockridge senior quarterback Darren Southwell was named as the Player of the Year in the South Divisions. His coach, first-year head coach Sam Graves, was selected as the Coach of the Year. The Rockets were undefeated league champions.

Hall’s Collin Aimone (return specialist) and Trevor Urbanski (tackle) were unanimous selections. Other area first-team all-conference selections were senior Nathan Tonozzi (center) of Hall and senior Michael Bellino (linebacker) and junior Justin Shaw (running back) of St. Bede.

Second-team honors went to senior Michael Slingsby (guard) and junior Sam Halm (linebacker) of St. Bede, seniors Matt Briddick (def. line), Aaron Kerr (running back), Trevor Urbanski (def. line), Grant Garland (def. back) and junior Trevor Case (tackle) of Hall and senior J.J. Vaccaro (def. back) and Logan Wilde (running back, def. line) of Princeton

Honorable mention went to senior Taggart Venegas (quarterback), Tonozzi (linebacker), Aimone (end), A.J. Gaeta (LB) and sophomore Jake Merkel (linebacker) of Hall, Vaccaro (end) of Princeton and Bellino (end), Halm (end), junior Jack Brady (quarterback), sophomore Baylee Hopps (def. back) and freshmen Brady Booker (def. line) and Braidy Shipp (def. back) of St. Bede.

TRAC North: Erie/Prophetstown coach Chuck Milem and senior Nick Willams received top recognition in the North Division. The Panthers were league runner-up behind Sterling Newman.

Bureau Valley received five first-team selections — junior Parker Neuhalfen (quarterback/defensive back), senior Bryan Arteberry (linebacker) and Tommy Johnston (punter, return specialist). Amboy/LaMoille’s Garrett Leibing (tackle/defensive line), Jason Bontz (linebacker) and Damon Quest (end/defensive back) also picked up first-team selection

Second-team placement was awarded to the Storm’s Justin Buckman (tackle, defensive line) while seniors Andrew Jacobs (center), Tucker Schoff (linebacker) and junior Josh Mead (linebacker) received honorable mention.

For Amboy/LaMoille, Bontz received second-team selection at running back and Emmitt Hicks was a second team pick at defensive line and earned honorable mention at guard. 

Loading more