Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!
The Holiday Gift Auction is Live! Click here and bid now on great local gifts!

Area players earn all-conference recognition

Postseason volleyball honors have been handed out for Threee Rivers Athletic Conference with many area players receiving all-conference awards.

League champ Princeton heads up the South Division with three first-team selections — seniors Michelle Kelly, Ashley Farraher and Becca Hult. They are joined by St. Bede senior Morgan King and Madi Schulenberg and Katie Conway of Orion and Riley Strandgard and Chelsey Crippen of Sherrard.

Schulenberg was named as the Player of the Year in the South.

The second team includes sophomores Hailey Schultz of Princeton and Brooke Keegan of Hall and seniors Morgan Bosnich and Olivia Mueller of St. Bede, Ali Gustafson and Gabby Kubiak of Kewanee and Callie Gosney of Rockridge.

Honorable mention honors went to Princeton’s Alicia Poss and Mollie Bates and Hall’s Vanessa Olivares.

In the North Divison, Bureau Valley junior Sydney Lebahn landed on the first team along with Payton Mink of Riverdale, Karlie Stafford of Prophetstown, Courtney Cobert, Mary Chapman and Savannah Mettler of league champ Erie, Betsy Leonard and Chelsea Lesniewski of Fulton.

The Storm also placed Lindsey Hoffert on the second team while Val Reuter received honorable mention.

Mink was named as the Player of the Year in the South.

The Little Ten: LaMoille/Ohio senior outside hitter and junior libero Ragen Forbes was named to the Little Ten All-Conference team. The list includes 12 players, including unanimous picks Kristina Nichols and Melane Kala of league champ Newark, Emma Goodrich of Indian Creek, Jordna Buellof Somonauk and Lauren Paver of HBR.

Junior college: Illinois Valley Community College sophomore Kayla MacDavitt, a St. Bede alum, has been named to the Arrowhead All-Conference volleyball team. ... Bureau Valley alum Taylor Hewitt, a sophomore at Lincoln College, received Midwest Athletic Conference honorable mention.

Loading more