SBA students receive award

Published: Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2013 4:00 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
St. Bede Academy Illinois State Scholars are (front row, from left) Michael Bellino, Christopher Sampson, James Peacock and Joseph Jagiella; and (back row) Sophie Carus, Morgan King, Gabrielle Mendoza, Christine Daley and Erin Line.

PERU — Nine students from St. Bede Academy have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars.

The award is given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) which recognizes high school students from across the state. Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of high school seniors from 749 high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT, Prairie State Achievement Exam scores and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunctions with ISAC to determine the winners.

The St. Bede Academy winners are: Michael Bellino of Standard, Sophie Carus of Peru, Christine Daley of Oglesby, Joseph Jagiella of Peru, Morgan King of Dalzell, Erin Line of Peru, Gabrielle Mendoza of Peru, James Peacock of Princeton and Christopher Sampson of Peru.

National Video