52°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Mendota repeats as LBCC champs

Published: Monday, Dec. 30, 2013 3:21 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Dec. 30, 2013 3:29 p.m. CDT
(BCR photo/Kevin Hieronymus)
LaMoille/Ohio’s Vanessa Martinez shoots against Kewanee in Saturday’s action in the Lady Bruins Christmas Classic.

Mendota repeated as champions at the Lady Bruins Christmas Classic, defeating Fieldcrest 61-41 Saturday evening at the Academy.

Fieldcrest busted Mendota’s full-court press with ease with layups to take a 20-17 lead early in the second quarter. The Lady Trojans moved back to halfcourt, settled down and settled in on for a 12-0 run to close out the first half for a 28-20 lead.

The Lady Trojans went on to outscore the Lady Knights 33-21 in the second half to win going away.

Amy Devitt led the Lady Trojans with 20 points. Also for Mendota, Ally Bromoschenkel and Brooke Stallings had 13 points each and Abby Bromoschenkel added 12.

Haley Reustman led Fieldcrest with 13 points and Tessa Holland added nine.

Kewanee needed a big fourth quarter from freshman Rachael Moraski, who scored 12 of her game-high 22 points to get past LaMoille/Ohio for seventh place. The Lady Lions gave Kewanee everything it wanted and then some, playing to a 30-30 tie three quarters.

Shiela Browning (13) and Vanessa Martinez (11) combined for 24 points for the Lady Lions.

Princeton rallied to defeat Henry 34-28 to claim ninth place. Zoe Mead led the Tigresses with 17 points, 14 coming in the fourth quarter to lead the PHS comeback. Michaela Strom added eight points.

Emma Cluskey led Henry with 18 points.

In other games, Seneca beat IVC 43-34 for fifth place and Eureka topped St. Bede 43-25 for third place.

On Friday, Zoe Mead (12) and Hughes (10) combined for 22 points in Princeton’s 57-28 loss to Fieldcrest.

All-Tournament: St. Bede’s Hanna Bima and Raley Mauck and LaMoille/Ohio’s Vanessa Martinez were selected to the all-tournament team.

Mendota placed Ally and Abby Bromoschenkel and Amy Devitt and Eureka placed three - Emily Ausmus, Ashlyn Lockart, Josie Hodel (Eureka).

Also named were Seneca’s Anna Baker and Jacey Lamboley, Kewanee’s Raeshonda Chandler, IVC’s Shayna Van Ostrand and Fieldcrest’s Tessa Holland, Haley Ruestman.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News