Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!
The Holiday Gift Auction is Live! Click here and bid now on great local gifts!

Bruins recognized for fall sports

PERU — Fall Sports Award winners were recognized at St. Bede Academy recently. They include:

Football: Michael Bellino received Most Valuable, Mr. Hardnose and Defensive Back; Michael Slingsby was named as Best Offensive Lineman and Best Defensive Lineman; Jack Brady was Most Improved; Connor MacDavitt received the Red Shirt; and Top Newcomers were Baylee Hopps, Braidy Shipp and Brady Booker.

Volleyball: Morgan Bosnich and Morgan King shared MVP honors; Olivia Mueller had the Most Blocks and Most Kills; Morgan King received Most Aces, Most Points and Most Digs; Claire Dudek was Most Improved, Samantha Whalen received Dedication; and Julia Pohar was the Highest Serve Percentage.

Cross country: Jacob Condon and Laura Sickley were Most Valuable; Brent Koogler and Annie Needs received Most Improved; and Jacob Condon was recognized as a sectional qualifier.

Boys golf: Joey Dudek was Most Valuable; Jack Kunkel received Most Improved; Anthony Truckenbrod was the Best Putter; Chris Sampson received Dedication; Jarret Olson had the Lowest Average; and Jarret Olson and Joey Dudek were recognized as sectional qualifiers.

Girls golf: Gabriella Mendoza was Most Valuable, Lowest Average and Best Putter; Taylor Hamer received Most Improved; Anthony Truckenbrod was the Best Putter; Sydney Eustice received Dedication; Gabriela Mendoza, Sydney Eustice, Tayler Hamer, Aiko Mendoza, Tess Montez and Rachel Cessna were recognized as sectional qualifiers; and Sydney Eustice was recognized as a state qualifier.

Girls tennis: Rachel Dose was Most Valuable and recognized as a state qualifier; and Maritsa Hermosilllo received Most Improved.

Loading more