Overcast and Breezy
47°FOvercast and BreezyFull Forecast

PHS students receive state honor

Published: Friday, Jan. 3, 2014 1:59 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
The Princeton High School Illinois State Scholars are Michelle Kelly (front row, from left), Mollie Bates, Hailey Michael, Jessica Birkey and Abigail Bickett; Lindsey Hartwig (second row), Kelly Schmidt, Megan Smith and Hunter Rodda; and Ryan Owens (back row), Ryan Jensen, Zachary Andersen and Jon Bibula.

PRINCETON — Thirteen students from Princeton High School have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars.

The award is given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) which recognizes high school students from across the state. Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 749 high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT, Prairie State Achievement Exam scores and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunctions with ISAC to determine the winners.

The Princeton High School winners are: Zachary Andersen, Mollie Bates, Jon Bibula, Abigail Bickett, Jessica Birkey, Lindsay Hartwig, Ryan Jensen, Michelle Kelly, Hailey Michael, Ryan Owens, Hunter Rodda, Kelly Schmidt and Megan Smith.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News