48°FOvercastFull Forecast

PHS holds National Honor Society ceremony

Published: Friday, Feb. 7, 2014 12:40 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, Feb. 7, 2014 12:42 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
Students who took part in the NHS induction were Fran Bowman (front row, from left), Lindsay Hartwig, Zach Andersen, Ryan Owens, Jake Reeverts, Ryan Jensen, Kelly Schmidt, Laura Behrends, Jon Bibula, Taylor Clark (back row), Brittany Krohn, Chloe Lund, Ian Nichols, Anjali Patel, Kim Schlesinger, Malena Wheeler, Alison Van Den Bussche, Ann Sims and Joshua Wray.

PRINCETON — Princeton High School inducted 15 new members into the National Honor Society. In order to be eligible, students must be juniors or seniors in high school, must have been in attendance at Princeton high School for one year and achieved a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25.

A five-member, faculty council reviewed the students based on outstanding criteria in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership and character. Awarding the new members in the auditorium were Andy Berlinski, principal, and Tameran Polowy, NHS advisor.

The previously inducted 2012-2013 senior NHS members conducted the traditional candle-lighting ceremony.  Laura Behrends was master of ceremonies while formerly inducted senior members Lindsay Hartwig, Ryan Jensen and Kelly Schmidt supported other parts in the ceremony.  

The 2013-2014 senior National Honor Society inductees were: Zach Andersen, Jon Bibula, Fran Bowman, Ryan Owens and Jake Reeverts.

The 2013-2014 junior National Honor Society inductees were: Taylor Clark, Brittany Krohn, Chloe Lund, Ian Nichols, Anjali Patel, Kim Schlesinger, Ann Sims, Alison Van Den Bussche, Malena Wheeler and Joshua Wray.