54°FOvercastFull Forecast

Princeton wins frosh invite

Published: Monday, Feb. 17, 2014 3:20 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Feb. 17, 2014 3:43 p.m. CDT
(Photo contributed)
The Princeton freshmen won their own tournament Saturday. Team members are (front row, left) Austin Hilmes, Brent Loftus, Colby Robbins, Ryan Watson, Luke Schultz; and (back row) Lucas Sissler, Keegan Moorman, Jake Farraher, Colton Youngren, Jacob Gibson and coach Eric Tinley.

The Princeton freshmen boys basketball team finished their season in style, winning their own invitational tournament Saturday at Prouty Gymnasium.

The Tigers (11-14) defeated Bureau Valley 68-47 for the championship. Brent Loftus and Colby Robbins each scored 17 points. Hunter Sebby had 16 points for the Storm.

PHS posted a 36-19 win over Hall in its first game. Robbins had 15 points. Nick Edgecomb topped Hall with 11.

St. Bede downed Hall 40-33 to take third place. Top scorers were St. Bede’s Nate Kinsella (13) and Edgecomb (13).

The most exciting contest of the day saw BV trip St. Bede 65-63 in double overtime. Jay Edelefson led the Storm with 21 points, while Cale Pozzi poured in 25 for the Bruins.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News