Partly Cloudy
73°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

State basketball notebook

Bravettes receive All-State honors

Published: Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 1:07 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 1:21 p.m. CDT
(BCR photo/Kevin Hieronymus)
Annawan’s Celina VanHyfte repeated as an AP All-State selection.

NORMAL — Three members of the Annawan Bravettes received All-State recognized, the Associated Press announced Thursday.

Senior center Celina VanHyfte repeated as a first-team selection, the only unanimous selection. Teammate Cierra Davis was named to the second team while Megan Foes received honorable mention, just missing the second-team cut.

Putnam County senior Daniela Pavlovich and Wethersfield senior Kirstin Parsons also received honorable mention.

The first team included Lanark Eastland junior Lexis Macomber, who squared off against VanHyfte and the Bravettes Friday.

A third player from a state finalist, Ryan Dooley of Mowequa Central A & M, also was selected to the first team.

Also chosen to the first team were senior Morgan Ahterton of Century and Ashley Nokomis of Nokomis.

The 2A All-State first team was led by Mt. Carmel senior Tyra Buss, who finished the most prolific scoring career with 4,882 points. The 2013 Ms. Illinois Basketball will cross state lines to play for the Indiana Hoosiers next year.

Two state finalist players, sophomore Tori McCoy of Champaign St. Thomas More and senior Madeline Hartke of Teutopolis, were selected to the first team along with seniors Devin Curry of Watseka and Samantha Lambrigsten of Oregon. Two members of Prophetstown’s state squad, senior Corrie Reiley and junior Clare Kramer, got honorable mention.

Welcome party: There will be a welcome-back celebration for the Bravettes at the Annawan High School Gym at 3 p.m. Sunday.

Comment on this story at

More News