79°FFairFull Forecast

Area girls earn Three Rivers honors

Published: Monday, March 3, 2014 1:56 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, March 3, 2014 1:59 p.m. CDT

Nine area players have received recognition in the 2013-14 Three Rivers All-Conference team which was released Monday morning.

St. Bede senior Laura Sickley was one of six girls named First Team in the South Division. Classmate Raley Mauck was picked to the second team along with Hall senior Becca Herrmann.

Honorable mention honors went to Princeton senior Zoe Mead, Hall junior Ellie Herrmann and freshman Hunter Galassi and St. Bede sophomore Hanna Bima.

Sherrard senior Riley Strandguard headed up the first team as the Player of the Year. She was joined by teammate Chelsey Crippen, and juniors Raeshonda Chandler of Kewanee, Katie Conway of Orion and Michaela Stoneking of Rockridge.

Other second-team selections included senior Shelby Calderone of Sherrard and Beth Meier of Rockridge, juniors Madison Lape of Rockridge and Abby DeBaillie of Orion and freshman Rachael Moraski of Kewanee.

Sherrard’s Doug Swanson was named as Coach of the Year.

In the North Division, Bureau Valley’s Helena Osk Arnadottir, a senior foreign exchange student from Iceland, was named to the second team, while sophomore Darcy Kepner received honorable mention.

Riverdale senior Sydney Mericle and Prophetstown junior Corrie Reiley shared Player of the Year honors with Prophetstown’s Don Robinson named as Coach of the year.

Other first-team selections included seniors Lauren Claus of Riverdale and Courtney Cobert of Erie, juniors Clare Kramer of Prophetstown and Kaityln Liebing of Amboy and sophomore Rachel Cobert of Erie.

Second-team selections included seniors Mary Alice Oswalt of Newman, Karlie Stafford of Prophetstown, Chelsea Eads of Morrison, juniors Lakin Goodman of Morrison and Kennedy Dinges of Amboy and sophomore Averi Leitzen of Fulton.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com

More News