And the questions are ...

Four referendum questions on the ballot

Published: Friday, March 14, 2014 1:46 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, March 14, 2014 1:58 p.m. CDT

Bureau County residents in four communities will have referendum questions on Tuesday’s primary ballot.

Those referendums are binding and will be determined by a simple majority vote, Bureau County Kami Hieronymus said. Three of those four questions have to do with proposed tax increases. The fourth question has to do with the deactivation of a school district.

If the referendums are approved at Tuesday’s primary, the governing boards of those individual taxing districts then have the authority to take the next necessary steps to have the tax increase implemented or the school district deactivated, Hieronymus said.

The questions are as follows:

Spring Valley

“Shall the corporate authorities of the city of Spring Valley be authorized to levy an additional Retailer’s Occupation Tax at a rate of .5 percent for expenditures on municipal operations, expenditures on public infrastructure, or other property tax relief?

• Yes or No.


“Shall the village of Arlington, Bureau County, Illinois, be authorized, on a permanent basis, to levy annually for general corporate purposes a tax not more than .4375 percent of the equalized assessed value of the taxable property therein extended, exclusive of the amount levied for the payment of bonded indebtedness, or interest thereon, and exclusive of taxes authorized by law which by their terms provide that those taxes shall be in addition to taxes for general purposes?”

• Yes or No.

Tiskilwa Rural Fire Protection District

“Shall the maximum allowable tax rate for the Tiskilwa Rural Fire Protection District be increased from .30 percent to .40 percent of the value of all taxable property within the District as equalized or assessed by the Department of Revenue?”

• Yes or No.

Cherry Grade School District No. 92

“Shall the board of education of Cherry Grade School District No. 92, Bureau County, Illinois, be authorized to deactivate the Cherry Grade School facility and to send pupils in the Cherry Grade School facility from Grades kindergarten through 8 to Dimmick Community Consolidated School District No. 175, LaSalle County?”

• Yes or No.

Comment on this story at

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!