Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!
The Holiday Gift Auction is Live! Click here and bid now on great local gifts!

Rauner, Quinn win governor nominations

Oberweis, Cross and Kinzinger win races

Bruce Rauner won the Republican nomination for Illinois governor in Tuesday's primary election, defeating three other Republican candidates, while Democratic incumbent Pat Quinn won his party's nomination. They will square off for the post in November's general election.

Rauner received 323,124 votes. Kirk Dillard collected 301,869, Bill Brady 122,303 and current Illinois Treasurer Dan Rutherford 61,113 in the Republican race. Quinn received 313,503 votes compared to challenger Tio Hardiman with 122,646 votes on the Democratic ballot.

James D. "Jim" Oberweis won the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate, collecting 416,905 votes compared to Douglas Truax, who had 326,754 votes. Oberweis will face Democratic incumbent Richard Durbin in November.

Tom Cross won the Republican nomination for Illinois treasurer with 392,183 votes compared to Bob Grogan with 291,530. He will face Democrat Michael Frerichs in the general election in November.

Republican incumbent Adam Kinzinger beat his opponent, David Hale Jr. for his party's nomination in the 16th Congressional District. Kinzinger collected 56,545 votes compared to Hale's 15,540. Kinzinger will face Democrat Randall Olson in the general election.

No statewide results were available as of press time in the State Central Committeeman 16th Congressional District race on the Democratic side between John Nelson and Dave Neal.

Loading more