45°FOvercastFull Forecast

Local students inducted into IVCC honor chapter

Published: Monday, May 12, 2014 3:20 p.m. CDT

OGLESBY — Illinois Valley Community College’s Mu Alpha chapter of the Sigma Kappa Delta English Honor Society for two-year colleges recently inducted more than 75 students.

The ceremony included a year-in-review showcasing the chapter’s activities, including fundraising efforts and sponsoring the eagLITS book club. The review also highlighted the 2014 Sigma Tau Delta International Convention.  

Officer Kelly McDonough attended the convention where her collection of poems was accepted for a roundtable panel. The chapter also received the 2014 Chapter Activity Award for best promoting the honor society’s aims either locally or nationally. This prestigious recognition included a certificate, plaque and $200 monetary award.

Mu Alpha’s president is Ali Braboy of Dalzell, vice president is Georgia Farris of Streator and secretary is McDonough of Peru. Faculty co-sponsors are English instructors Kimberly Radek, Delores Robinson and Adam Oldaker.

The biennial ceremony inducted 76 students from fall 2012 through spring 2014 and they include Shaunessy Gatch of Wyanet, Carlie Quinn of Spring Valley, Teresa Lehr of LaMoille, Lisa Elmore of Wyanet, Ashley Gonzalez of Spring Valley, Natalie Janusick of Spring Valley, Brianna Kamphuis of Princeton, Hanna Kosciewicz of Spring Valley, Luisa Messina of Spring Valley, Melissa Paxton of Spring Valley, Johnna Schultz of Spring Valley, Blake Slutz of LaMoille, Emily Thomas of Spring Valley, Peter Thomas of Spring Valley, Elizabeth Voitik of Princeton, Erin Welsh of Princeton, Jennifer Wick of DePue, Jessie Winchel of LaMoille, Daniel Davis II of Princeton, Maximilian Halm of LaSalle and Paige Schaefer of Princeton.

Get breaking news and weather sent to your phone. Sign up for bcralerts!

More News