Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Three inducted into bowling hall of fame

PRINCETON — The 13th annual USBC WBA and USBC BA Spring Awards banquet was held May 3 to recognize Princeton bowlers.

Ruth Pioterek, Randy Allen and Mel Hooper were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Youth bowlers scholarships went to Emileigh Shepard, Danny Wolf and Chris Layton.

The Mike Young Sportsmanship Award went to Al Layton.

Gary “Jack” Lucas won the men’s senior master champion.

Men’s City Tournament winners were Eric Acuncius (4A singles), Joe Zokal and Acuncius (4B doubles), Randy Hanson, Jim Joritz, Al Layton and Randy Allen (team) and Joe Zokal (all events).

The Kids All-Star Awards winners were (Alexis Hinkley and Dawson Kinsley (bantam), TerriAnn Oestel and Matt Philhower (prep), Garrett Allen (junior) and Lexee Camp and Chris Layton (senior).

The Kenny Bickett Award went to Rob Colby (adult) and Jonathan Allen (youth).

The Carl Gustafson Award went to Mel Carlson.

The Women’s Bowling Secretary Award went to Nicole Walker.

The Terri Baker Sportsmanship Award went to Robin Eikenberry and Danny Wolf.

Darrin Miller received a first-time participation award.

Loading more