Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Hall High School holds convocation banquet

SPRING VALLEY — Hall High School held its annual convocation and awards program on April 29 at Celebrations. Faculty members, administrators, board members, sponsors, students and students’ families were in attendance.

Trovillo Scholarship — Rachel Bezely, Jenna Edington, Brenna Faletti, Clarissa Gerrard, Kaylee Golden, Ashley Keegan, Brent Neahring, Nicholas Scheri, Trevor Urbanski, Zachary Urbanski, Taggart Venegas and Miguel Villarreal.

Kleinfall Scholarship — Zachary Urbanski and Taggart Venegas.

Hall Booster Organization scholarships — Clarissa Gerrard and Zachary Urbanski.

Helen Koch Volunteer Award/Scholarship — Rachel Bezely.

Gary Vicini Scholarship — Taggart Venegas.

Daniel Lule Scholarship — Trevor Urbanski and Zachary Urbanski.

American Red Cross Scholarship — Jenna Edington.

Greg Colmone Scholarship — Rachel Bezely and Jenna Edington.

North Central Bank Community Bank Essay Scholarship — Ashley Keegan and Zachary Urbanski.

The LeRoy Bertrand Scholarship — Rachel Bezely and Kaylee Golden.

Educators of Beauty Cosmetology Scholarships — Nicole Whitten and Brittany Gonzalez.

Bureau County Democratic Scholarship — Brenna Faletti and Rebecca Herrmann.

Moose International R. Robert Dale Scholarship — Kaylee Golden.

The American Legion, Dominic Oberto, Post No. 182 Scholarship Award — Rebecca Herrmann and Rachel Bezely.

IHSA All-State Academic Team nominees — Jacob Merkel.

News Tribune All-Academic Team Honorable Mention — Rachel Bezely, Kaylee Golden and Rebecca Herrmann.

Top Underclassmen Freshmen — Ashley Choate, Christopher Enriquez, Linnea Lee Brown, Jenna Lusietto, Hayden Nielsen and Connor Whitten; Sophomores — Marco Uribe, Andrew Pullam, Evan Kiphart, Tanja Acamovic and Brooke Keegan; and Juniors — Alberto Baldonado, Luke Lee Brown, Josephine Wales, Tyler Pullam and Hayley Cessna.

Valedictorian — Rachel Bezely.

Salutatorian — Rebecca Herrmann.

Top ten —Rachel Bezely, Rebecca Herrmann, Brenna Faletti, Kaylee Golden, Nicholas Scheri, Ashley Keegan, Brent Neahring, Jenna Edington, Taggart Venegas, Clarissa Gerrard and Trevor Urbanski.

Gold Tassels — Rachel Bezely, Rebecca Herrmann, Brenna Faletti, Kaylee Golden, Nicholas Scheri, Ashley Keegan, Brent Neahring, Jenna Edington, Taggart Venegas, Clarissa Gerrard, Trevor Urbanski, Sandro Aldana Garcia, Michelle Anderson, Elizabeth Baer, Olivia Bergagna, Danielle Edwards, Taylor Galassi, Deyanere Landeros, Torri Leek, Ranay Loehr, Kayla Musgrave, Vanessa Olivares, Kaitlyn Padgett, Rebecca Schmidt, Danielle Seibert, Nathan Tonozzi, Ian Trevier, Maria Villalobos Vargas, Miguel Villarreal, and Colten Zibert.

Illinois State Scholars — Rachel Bezely, Brenna Faletti, Kaylee Golden, Rebecca Herrmann, Ranay Loehr, Nicholas Scheri and Nathan Tonozzi.

DAR award winner — Nathan Tonozzi.

SAR award winner — Rachel Bezely.

Hugh O‘Brien Youth Leadership Award — Jake Merkel.

Honors Activities Club Senior of the Year — Maria Villalobos.

Community Service Award — Rachel Bezely, Jenna Edington, Roosvelt Fuentes, Clarissa Gerrard, Kaylee Golden, Kaitlyn Padgett, Trevor Urbanski, Zachary Urbanski, Nicole Whitten and Deidra Whightsil.

James Francisco 150% Award — Aaron Kerr.

Power Mechanics Club Award — Nate Burkman.

Richard Fling Memorial Award — Isaac Marquez.

Snoopy Award — Ashley Keegan and Clarissa Gerrard.

Father Garrahan Award — Trevor Urbanski.

Richard Nesti Award — Trevor Urbanski.

Alice J. Schibrowski Award — Rebecca Herrmann.

Richard Nesti Athlete of the Year Award — Taggart Venegas.

Peg Cassiday Memorial Citizenship Award — Rachel Bezely, Ashley Keegan, Roosvelt Fuentes and Taggart Venegas.

Francee Wolf Memorial Heart and Soul Award — Roosvelt Fuentes, Rebecca Herrmann, Ashely Keegan and Taggart Venegas.

Elks Club Teens of the Month — Rachel Bezely, Roosvelt Fuentes, Clarissa Gerrard, Kaylee Golden, Rebecca Herrmann, Ashley Keegan, Nicholas Scheri, Nathan Tonozzi, Trevor Urbanski and Taggart Venegas.

Bureau County Teens of the Month — Ashley Keegan and Rachel Bezely.

Student Council Officers — Kaylee Golden, president; Jenna Edington, vice president; and Hayley Cessna, secretary.

Student Council Members Freshman Class — Gage Ripka, president; Josh Ruda, vice president; Ashley Choate, secretary; and Alyse Ruda, representative. Sophomore Class — Jacob Wertz, president; Nick Stoner, vice president; Marcquis Briddick, treasurer; and Noah Gingrich, Lindsey Conrad, Cassandra Shuper and Amanda Scheri all representatives. Junior Class — Lexi Piccatto, president; Hannah Barnes, vice president; Abygail Azarskis, secretary; Samantha Osborn, treasurer; and Carlee Yuvan, Sarah Tipton, Al Baldonado and Morgan Soldati all representatives. Senior Class — Rachel Bezely, president; Rebecca Herrmann, treasurer; and Brenna Faletti, Kathryn Destri and Kayla Musgrave all representatives.

French Scholastic Award — Rachel Bezely, Rebecca Herrmann, Brenna Faletti and Ashley Keegan.

Stole Winners — Rachel Bezely, English, French, math and science; Maria Villalobos Vargas, Spanish; Kaylee Golden, social studies; Kaitlyn Padgett, fine arts — art; Ashley Keegan, fine arts — vocal music; Clarissa Gerrard, fine arts — vocal music; Lucas Noll, industrial technology, auto/power; and Colten Zibert, area carer center

National Honor Society Members Second year members — Olivia Bergagna, Rachel Bezely, Jenna Edington, Clarissa Gerrard, Kaylee Golden, Rebecca Herrmann, Ashley Keegan, Ranay Loehr and Kaitlyn Padgett. First year members — Torri Leek, Brent Neahring, Rebecca Schmidt, Taggart Venegas, Al Baldonado, Luke Lee Brown, Hayley Cessna, Kara Crowther, Ellen Herrmann, Emily Hoscheid, Carly Kirkman, Tyler Pullam, Alyssa Smith and Sarah Tipton.

The program ended with the ceremonial torch passing from 2013-14 senior class President Rachel Bezely to 2014-15 senior class President Hayley Cessna; 2013-14 Student Council President Kaylee Golden to 2014-15 Student Council President Lexi Piccatto

Loading more