Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Bureau Valley North holds awards ceremony

WALNUT — Bureau Valley North held its awards ceremony for junior high students on May 23 in the gymnasium.

Drama Club awards — Katherine Monier, Marissa Zittle, Kylee Hoagland, A.J. Hockings, Cody Ratliff, Colin Kruse, Jaiden Hanson, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Mason Wierzbicki, Kole Sissel, Lynne Swanson, Donald Rios, Alyssa Heidenreich, Dillan Maynard, Brendan McAlvey, Elijah Lind, Joshua Monier, Zoe Schiedel, Montana VonHolten, Catherine Lindley, Douglas Hurley, Abbey Johnson, Ashtyn Hanabarger, Bailey Butler, Amber Dietz, Tanner Maynard, Alonzo Pressy, Madie McFadden, Sabrina Cisketti, Madison Jackson, Payton Moore, Colten Fritz, Wyatt Baker, Logan Hardy, Rieder Pistole, Courtney Hoagland, Allen Guenther, Haeli Blackert, Carly Konneck, Sarah Beattie, Kayla Sweenie, Samantha Bohm and Rhiannon Staker.

Media Club certificates — Makanna Sabin, E.J. Rinehart, Cody Ratliff, Ashtyn Hanabarger, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Madison Morrow, Josie Cady, Katherine Monier, Bailey Butler, Sarah Beattie, Madison Jackson, Alyssa Heidenreich, Amber Dietz, Cidney Whittaker, Lynne Swanson, Andrew Mazzei, Alonzo Pressy, Dillan Maynard, Joshua Monier, Catherine Lindley, Ben Shipp, Elijah Lind, Madie McFadden, Abbey Johnson, Jade Blackert, Stephanie Gripp, Connor Johnson, Kole Sissel, Ian Pistole, Lexi Ryan and Rhiannon Staker.

Pam Smith Drama award — Joshua Monier.

Outstanding Eighth-Grade Band award — Ellen Johnson and Bradley Sierens.

Outstanding Eighth-Grade Chorus award — Joshua Monier.

BVEC Band award — Andrew Mazzei, Bailey Butler, Josie Cady, Jessica Linley, Rieder Pistole, Kaitlin Mungia, Sarah Beattie, Mason Wierzbicki, Katherine Monier, Dallas Hardy,  Memphis Fisher, Allen Guenther, Joe Green, Katie Bannick, Joshua Monier, Bradley Sierens, Madison Jackson, Morgan Vick, Emily Fordham, Ellen Johnson, Savanah Jensen, Connor Johnson, Ben Jackson, Brendan McAlvey, Jackson Hanson, Lexi Ryan and Rhiannon Staker.

BVEC Chorus award — Elijah Lind, A.J. Hockings, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Courtney Hoagland, Marissa Zittle, Madie McFadden, Alyssa Heidenreich, Taylor Butler, Lynne Swanson, Jade Blackert, Sabrina Cisketti, Abbey Johnson and Colbie Carl.

IMEA Music award for chorus — Elijah Lind, Lynne Swanson, Joshua Monier, A.J. Hockings, Sabrina Cisketti, Madie McFadden, Brendan McAlvey, Marissa Zittle, Abbey Johnson and Rhiannon Staker.

IMEA Music award for band — Bradley Sierens.

Carol Stauter Visual Arts award — Jackson Hanson.

Brandon Spears award — Allen Guenther.

Caudill Award — Jade Blackert.

Scholastic Bowl — Allen Guenther, Kole Sissel, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Colin Kruse, Mason Wierzbicki, Katherine Monier, Sarah Beattie, Jaiden Hanson, Madie McFadden, Alyssa Heidenreich, Cat Lindly, Stephanie Gripp, Elijah Lind, Bradley Sierens, Joshua Monier, Benjamin Jackson and Jade Blackert.

Language Arts award — Ellen Johnson.

Student Council — Sixth-grade members — Mason Baker, Bailey Butler, Rieder Pistole, Logan Hardy, Katherine Monier and Makanna Sabin.  Seventh-grade members Jessica Linley, Alyssa Heidenreich, Noah Johnson, Ben Ship, Elijah Lind (historian) and Emily Fordham (vice president). Eighth-grade members — Ian Carl, Laura Phillips, Jade Blackert, Joshua Monier, Danny Schoff (secretary) and Ellen Johnson (president).

Eighth-Grade Mathematics award — Jade Blackert and Ellen Johnson.

Million Word Readers — Allan Kerber, Zachary Quait-Ohlson, Molly Bohm, Ashtyn Hanabarger, Jeffrey Linley, Katherine Monier, Sarah Beattie, Makanna Sabin, Katie Bannick, Nicole Stone, Austin Wierzbicki (Gold), Stephanie Gripp, Jessica Linley, Elijah Lind, Colbie Carl, Joseph Peters, Laura Phillips (Silver), Lynne Swanson (Bronze), Bradley Sierens, Ben Jackson, Jade Blackert, Jay Kepner, Jasan Johnson, Christen Hurley, Emily Fordham and Taylor Butler.

Eighth-Grade Science award — Nataleigh Nugent and Jade Blackert.

Courtesy award — Courtney Hoagland and Joshua Monier.

Social Studies award — Bradley Sierens.

Athlete award — Joshua Monier, Andrew Petros, Bradley Sierns, Christen Hurley, Ellen Johnson and Nataleigh Nugent.

Perfect attendance — Nataleigh Nugent and Joshua Monier.

President’s Award for Educational Excellence — Morgan Vick, Austin Wierzbicki, Laura Phillips, Colbie Carl, Bradley Sierens, Joseph Peters, Ellen Johnson, Ben Jackson and Jade Blackert.

12 Scrolls award — Bradley Sierens, Joshua Monier, Austin Wierzbicki, Nataleigh Nugent, Morgan Vick, Joseph Peters, Ellen Johnson, Ben Jackson, Christen Hurley and Jade Blackert.

Outstanding Students award — Jade Blackert and Bradley Sierens.

IMEA State Music Contest Best of the Day award — Sequia Wierzbicki, Cidney Whittaker and Ashytyn Hanabarger.

Loading more