Bureau County Democratic Party awards scholarships

PRINCETON — The Bureau County Democratic Party has named the recipients of this year’s scholarships.

The recipient of the Princeton High School $500 scholarship was Brody Anderson. The recipients of LaMoille High School $250 scholarships are Alexis Beard and Preston Powers.

The scholarship was established to assist Bureau County youth in furthering their education and to encourage participation in the political process. Applicants earn points based on the following criteria: being a registered voter; involvement in extracurricular activities, especially student government, during high school; involvement/volunteerism for political campaign(s); and being accepted into a post-secondary or apprenticeship program.