67°FFairFull Forecast

Five area players chosen by all South coaches

Published: Wednesday, June 11, 2014 4:02 p.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, June 11, 2014 4:07 p.m. CDT

Five area baseball players received unanimous all-conference selection in the Three Rivers South Division.

Senior outfielder Taggart Venegas of Hall, senior infielder Michael Bellino and sophomore outfielder Jarret Olson of St. Bede, along with sophomore pitcher Jake Reinhardt and senior outfielder Isaiah Taylor of Princeton were tabbed all-conference by all league coaches.

Also for Hall, senior infielder Miguel Villarreal made the first team, and junior infielder A.J. Gaeta and sophomore catcher Adam Sangston made the second team.

Princeton also placed senior J.J. Vaccaro and senior outfielder Tyler Marvin on the second team along with St. Bede junior infielder Matt Szczepanaik.

Sophomore pitcher Blake Lampo of Sherrard was named as the Player of the Year in the South. Other first-team selections in the South included senior catcher Dalton Nuding, senior infielder John Moraski and senior outfielder Jared Nimrik of Kewanee, senior catcher Austin Hildebrandt, senior infielder Mitch Smith and senior outfielder Shaye Mora of Sherrard, senior outfielder Alex Martin of Rockridge and junior DH/utility Andrew Lundburg of Orion.

In the North Division, Bureau Valley senior Ryan Young and juniors Josh Mead and Gage Smith all made the second team, and Chris Shynk received honorable mention.

There were co-conference Players of the Year in the North — sophomores Joey Brackemyer (pitcher) and Justin Jensen (catcher) of league champ Morrison.

Their coach, Ben Songeroth, was the Coach of the Year.

Other first-team selections in the North were senior pitcher Kenneth Cole and junior outfielder Kallen Jensen of Erie/Prophetstown, senior pitcher Ethan Jones and senior DH/utility Paul Velasco of Fulton, junior catcher Shane Allen, junior infielder Dilian Heffelfinger, junior outfielders Trevor Bolin and Brandon Burke and senior outfielder Michael Ely of Newman, junior infielder Tim Clark of Amboy, senior infielder Bill Lee Greaul, and sophomore infielder Ben Tegeler of Morrison.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com

More News